WITNEY Royals remain in Premier Division relegation trouble after they were easily beaten 7-2 by mid-table Hanborough, writes John Smyth.

Visitors Hanborough cashed in on a considerable gale in the opening period racing into a four goal advantage Royals pulled a couple back at the start of the second half, but Hanborough raced away to a comfortable victory.

Aston Leach scored five to add to strikes by Tom Weedon and Warren Vandenberg.

Liam Readhead and Chris Thompson scored for Royals.

In Division 1, Spartan Rangers had their promotion prospects dented when they suffered a surprise 2-1 defeat at the hands of struggling Freeland A.

Goals from Scott Greening and a Sam Symonds spot kick were good enough for Freeland, with Jamie Timms replying.

Carterton Rangers continue to rise up the Division 2 table after recording a 3-0 victory at Bampton Town.

Two goals from Johnny Dover and one from Mo Hales gave Rangers the three points and move them up to fifth place in the league.

Bampton remain just a place above the relegation zone.

Spartan Rangers Res kept up the pressure on the leading two in Division 3.

A hard-fought 3-2 victory over Bourton Rangers Res took them to within a point of leaders Minster Res with a game in hand.

A rare Dave Duggan effort and one from Charlie Harper were cancelled out in the first half by a Josh Catlin double.

However, a fine run and strike by Joel Spalding earned Spartan all the points, although the young Bourton side will count themselves unlucky as they wasted numerous good opportunities late on.

Leaders Tower Hill are starting to run away from the chasing pack in Division 4.

They have a five-point lead after an 11-1 demolition of Spartan Rangers A.

Ed Dunn bagged four goals and there was a double for Jesse Lawrence, with single goals from Luke and Adam Bolley, Ian Wright, Connor Tinsley and Jamie Goodwin.

Tom Merchant scored the consolation for Spartan.


Premier: 11 Jack Morton (Ducklington), 8 Craig McCallum (Charlbury), 7 Reece Bayliss (Chipping Norton Town), 6 Aston Leach (Hanborough), Steven Hunt (Chadlington).

Division 1: 22 Pawel Bronk (Brize Norton), 13 John Andrews (Hailey Res), 11 John Ayres (Eynsham SSC), 8 Chris Lawrence (FC Nomads), Matt Townsend (Spartan), Mo Semlali (Hailey Res).

Division 2: 15 Dan Hall (Carterton Rgrs), 14 Davy Cooper, Lee Keyes (both FC Hollybush), Marcello (Witney Wanderers)