EAST Oxford CC are on course to be elected to the Cherwell League.

The Oxfordshire Cricket Association champions’ application has the backing of Cherwell chiefs as they “appear to meet all of the criteria for membership”.

Now clubs will vote on their election at the league’s annual meeting at Bicester & North Oxford on Thursday, November 22 (7.30pm).

The league’s management committee will recommend that East Oxford, who will play their home games at Lincoln College, be placed in Divisions 4 and 7.

Meanwhile, Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts have had their 4th XI axed from the league for next season because of the number of games they cancelled in the last two seasons.

Dinton’s 3rd XI are to be monitored next year because of the games they scrapped in 2012 and 2011.

Legendary former Oxfordshire seamer Keith Arnold is to stand down from the management team at the annual meeting due to work commitments.

This Saturday, divisional champions and individual winners will receive their trophies at the annual dinner and presentation night at Hawkwell House Hotel, Oxford, with former New Zealand Test captain Jeremy Coney the guest speaker.