Crews from Wallingford and City of Oxford clubs dominated the Abingdon Head of the River Race with a total of 17 victories.

Nine of these were won by Wallingford, whose intermediate 1 crew of Alastair Collier, Bill Cole, Richard Thwaites, Peter Watson and cox Becky Collier stormed down the 2,00-metre course become the fastest coxed four of the day.

In the afternoon, having replaced Watson with new recruit Liam Price, the crew also won the intermedaite 3 coxed four category.

Thwaites rounded off the racing with a hat-trick after winning the intermediate 3 double sculls with Steven Hall.

Wallingford’s women's J16 coxless quad of Lucy Walker, Lauren Shannon, Poppy Dawe and Jess Shuttleworth won their event and also took the title of fastest women's junior crew of the day In addition, Jess Polkey, Ani Cook, Poppy Dawe and Georgia Swiatoniowska, with cox Billy Lines, won the women’s J15 coxed quad.

Not to be outdone by the girls, the boys also put in excellent performances with wins from Henry Edwards, Andrew Wheel, Alex Lyons and Arthur Arnould in the J18 coxless quad and Seb Newman in J15 single scull.

The City of Oxford junior squad had successes in eight events.

This included Ava Dale, who not only won the under 15 race, but was the fastest female sculler overall.

Charlie Rogers won the under 17 single scull, the under 17 double scull with partner Olivia Passey and then coxed the men’s novice coxed four home.