Six candidates will fight for a seat on the city council at a Cowley ward by-election next month.

The poll has been triggered by the resignation of Labour city councillor Helen O’Hara for personal reasons.

Those contesting the seat are David Henwood (Lab), Hazel Dawe (Green), Katharine Harborne (Con), Ian McDonald (UKIP), Artwell (Ind) and Prakash Sharma (Lib Dem).

All but the Lib Dem candidate stood unsuccessfully in the May 22 elections.

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday, July 17.

  • Our top stories: