Oxford MailBAR BILLIARDS: Vikings hit back (From Oxford Mail)

Get involved: send your photos, videos, news & views by texting OXFORD NEWS to 80360 or email us

BAR BILLIARDS: Vikings hit back

Oxford Mail: BAR BILLIARDS: Vikings hit back BAR BILLIARDS: Vikings hit back

VIKINGS and Didcot Conservative Club missed out on the change to make up ground on Kennington as the top three Premier Section sides triumphed 3-2.

Vikings had to battle back from 2-1 behind against Masons B.

A superb 18,790 break from Chris Webb (19,000) helped put the visitors ahead, before Allan Lacey and Pete Ewins (13,740, break 7,980) claimed the 3-2 victory.

Leaders Kennington won away at Masons A, with Kevin Godfrey (6,120), Mark Trafford (6,100) and Steven Sheard (8,020, break 6,760) their winners.

Jenny Florey won the deciding leg as Didcot triumphed at home to Marlborough 3-2.

The title race in Section 1 is very tight, with West Oxford Democrats Club now just half a point behind Berinsfield, who were on a free week.

Democrats won 4-1 away to Headington Conservative Club.

Bob Parsons (3,680), Eddie Tebby (3,960), John Patey (7,080) and Terry Green (4,270) won the first four games, before Tim Jeffreys saved the whitewash after beating Billy Hill in the final game.

Third-placed Gladiators Club A defeated their B side 3-2.

Grant Johnson was top scorer for the B team with 6,780, while Dave Jarman, Bob Pincombe and Bert Lovegrove took the A side’s points.


Vikings 3, Masons B 2; Masons A 2, Kennington 3; Headington Con Club 1, Democrats 4; Gladiators B 2, Gladiators A 3; Didcot Con Club 3, Marlborough 3.


Comments are closed on this article.


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree