HORSPATH Hammers produced an impressive team performance to win the Cycle Speedway Cup.

The Oxfordshire side took the final 100-74 over Poole Comets, after beating Ipswich Eagles in the last four and easing through their qualifiers at Great Blakenham, Suffolk.

Horspath were among the pre-tournament favourites and competed against the top eight teams from around the country.

World champion Ben Mould was unavailable for the qualifiers against Newport and Leicester, but the Hammers still named a strong side.

Five riders were unbeaten, with British champion Mark Boaler sportingly letting the Leicester reserves through in the last heat.

Mark Carmichael top-scored with 16, while Gavin Wheeler and Will Jeffery collected 15+1, Lukas Nowacki 13+3, Zac Payne 12+4 and Boaler 10+3.

Hammers faced the much-fancied Eagles in the last four, as Mould joined the party.

The Horspath riders took turns at dropping out to bring him into the meeting and they were four points ahead at halfway.

Hammers gently increased their advantage and race advantages in five of the final ten heats saw them reach the final with a 96-80 victory.

Mould claimed an impressive 22 points, with Carmichael next on 17 and Payne claiming 15+1.

Boaler recorded 12+2, Jeffery 11+2, Wheeler 11 and Nowacki 8+1.

Jeffery was captain for the final and represented Hammers at the coin toss, but Comets chose the inside grids in the first heat and Aaron Smith took advantage to lead from start to finish.

Boaler and Carmichael claimed Horspath’s first maximum heat win, either side of draws for Payne and Wheeler and Nowacki and Mould.

Comet took a rare 7-0 advantage in heat seven following a first-bend exclusion for Nowacki, who was sandwiched, before Jeffery caught the back wheel of an opponent in the rerun and fell heavily, injuring his knee.

Clearly in agony, he jumped back on board but was effectively excluded for being lapped and withdrew on medical advice.

This spurred Horspath on and they opened up an unassailable lead in the second half, despite a late exclusion for Payne.

Boaler was the star, top-scoring with 21+1.

Strong rides from Mould and Carmichael saw them claim 18+1, with Payne just behind on 16+1 and Nowacki on 15+1.

Wheeler claimed ten and the injured Jeffery managed two.