Cricketers kept up their quest for the Premier/Section 1 title of the Greene King Oxford & District League with a 2-1 win against champions George in a battle of the anchormen.

But it was a tight contest with all three legs decided on a three-stick shoot-out.

George set the opening leg with 29 and it was Cricketers anchorman Den Sellar who knocked the dolls off to level, with Cricketers winning the shoot-out.

Chasing 28 in the second leg, George's anchorman Willy Waite made it 28-28, but Cricketers won the shoot-out.

In the final leg, George set 29, with Sellar whipping off the dolls to level at 29-29, which George won on the shoot-out.

George's Dennis Butler top-scored with 14.

Keith Alder clanged off 14 dolls as Garsington Sports eased to a 3-0 win against New Club.

Barry Ruffels chipped in with 13 in their 24-20, 35-19, 22-19 victory. Adrian Shepherd hit 13 for New Club.

In Section 2 George B, eased to a 3-0 victory against Plough.

Steve Bayliss top-scored with 13 as they triumphed 25-16, 17-15, 24-17.

Glyn Millard bagged a 14-doll haul in vain as Fairview lost 2-1 against White House B in Section 3.

Fairview took the second leg after White House won the first 22-12.

But White House won the decider 20-16, with Carl Edgington hitting 11.

Vikings beat Donnington Club 2-1 in their top-of-the-table clash.

They took the first two legs 21-18, 25-21, with Donnington winning the final leg 21-18. Vikings' Robin Charlton top-scored with 13 dolls.

In Section 4, Golden Ball's Monty Morgan clanged off 15 dolls, but still ended up on the losing side as they went down 2-1 to Quarry Gate.

Quarry won the opener 19-14 with Jimmy Light whipping off a six.

Golden Ball levelled the match in the second leg 23-20. Quarry set and won the final leg 24-21.

Brian Gough 6-3-4 and Malcolm Skuce 3-6-3 guided Whitmore Arms to 2-1 away win at Crown Charlton-On-Otmoor in Section 5. The first two legs were shared 14-22, 21-17 and Crown set the final leg with 22. Whitmore Arms anchorman came to their rescue by knocking off the four dolls needed to tie the leg. They then went on to win the leg and match on three sticks 12-11.

Lord Kitchener B took over at the top of Section 5 with a 3-0 win against previous leaders Vikings Sports C.

They won the first leg 24-20 and took the next on a three-stick play-off after drawing 20-20. Kitchener won the final leg 20-18.

Andy Bradford hit 13 dolls as Red Lion Garsington beat Dogwood 2-1 in the leg scores of 19-21, 21-20, 20-17. In Section 6, Cricketers Littleworth move level top with Red Lion Marston after beating them 2-1. After losing the opener 22-21, they took the next leg 21-19 and then easily won the deciding leg 24-17. Cricketers Derek Stansfield top-scored with 15 dolls, with John Cleaton chipping in with a baker's dozen.

Anchorman Robert Shouler was the hero for Section 7 leaders Red Cow as they beat Barley Mow 2-1.

Chasing a set of 13, Shouler hit the four dolls needed to take the leg it to the three-stick shoot-out.

Chasing 12 in the second leg, Shouler once again hit four dolls to take it to a three-stick shoot-out, with Barley Mow taking the leg.

Red Cow won the decider 19-10 with Shouler ending up with 13 dolls.

Chequers D Neil Jackson hit 13 in their 3-0 win over Folly Bridge in Section 8.. He was aided by Chris Jackson who hit a sixer in his eleven dolls as they won all three legs 17-7, 17-9, 19-10.

RESULTS CHECK Premier & Section 1: Cricketers B 2, George A 1; Gladiators A 1, White House A 2; Kings Arms 0, Red Lion A 3; Woodman 0, Three Pigeons 3; New Club A 0, Garsington Sports 3.

Section 2: Tiddington Cricket 2, New Club B 1; Turners Arms 0, Black Swan A 3; Kidlington Sports B 1, Royal Sun 2; Red Lion Brill 0, Six Bells 3; George B 3, Plough 0.

Section 3: Donnington Club A 1, Vikings Club B; Gardiner Arms 2, Quarry Gate B 1; White House B 2, Fairvew Inn A 1; Chequers B 1, Green Road Club 2; North Oxford Con 1, Cowley Con Club 2.

Section 4: Red Lion B Eyn 2, Chequers A 1; Red Lion Islip 1, Masons Arms A 2; Quarry Gate A 2, Golden Ball B 1; Cowley Workers 2, Bull 1; Vikings A 1, Rose Hill Dwarfs 2.

Section 5: Lord Kitchener B 3, Vikings Club C 0; B'bird 2, Kidlington Sp A 1; Chandos Arms A 3, Highfield Club A 0; Dogwood 1, Red Lion Garsington 2; Crown A 1, Whitmore Arms 2.

Section 6: Golden Ball A 1, Nelson A 2; Nut Tree 3, Democrats Club 0; Brill Club A 1, Kennington Club A 2; Queens Head 2, Team Monarch 1; Cricketers A 2, Red Lion 1.

Section 7: Highfield Club B 2, Crown B 1; Eight Bells 0, Brill Club B 3; Plough B 3, Ashton Club 0; Red Cow 2, Barley Mow 1; Blacks Head Inn 1, Unicorn Inn 2.

Section 8: White Hart 0, Chandos Arms B 3; Jolly P'boys 3, Cricketers A 0; Gladiators B 1, Kings Arms 2; Six Bells A 2, Red Lion Wen 1.

Section 9: Fairview Inn B 1, Red Lion B Cass 2; L'more RC 2, Cavalier A 1; Masons Arms B 1, Shelley Arms 2; Headington BL 1, Red Lion Wolv 2; Nelson B 2, Somerset Hse 1.

Section 10: Red Lion C Eyn 3, Cricketers B 0; Yarnton BL 0, Plough A 3; Kidlington C 0, Donnington B 3; Catherine Wheel 0, Northway 3; Red Lion A Cass 1, Fox 2.

Section 11: Jolly Sportsman 3, Kings Arms Ladies 0; Black Swan B 3, Black Horse B 0; Donnington Arms 2, White Hart 1; Chequers D 3, Folly Bridge Inn 0.

Section 12: POW Iffley 1, John Radcliffe Club 2; Cavalier B 1, Kite Inn 2; POW Horspath Rd 1, Oxford RC 2.

SIXERS N Pratley (Woodman), J Weller, L Disley (George A), A Shepherd (New Club A), B Ruffels, K Alder (Garsington Sports), M Cook (Gladiators A), M Berry, K Powell (Red Lion Eynsham), B Gough, M Skuce (Whitmore Arms), G Millard (Fairview Inn), N Costar (Vikings B), D Stansfield (Cricketers Littleworth), I Bishop (Donnington Club).

BLOBBERS V Armstrong (Plough), M Thompson (Democrats Club), M McCarthy (Crown), S Timms (Blacks Head), S Turner (Kings Arms Wheatley), B Mossop (H'ton BL), S Devey, M Chapman, E Minns (Cavalier), K Bayliss, D Lynes (PoW Horspath Rd), E Wheeler (Oxford RC), J Turner (JR Club).