RICHARD Adnams’ exploits proved in vain as Democrats were beaten 5-4 at home by Section 1 rivals Prince of Wales in the Cowley Workers Club ODDA.

The visitors raced into a 3-0 lead, before victories for Adnams and Mark Bayliss reduced the arrears.

The former needed just 39 darts, with legs of 14, 12 and 13, to triumph.

But Tim Tricker claimed victory for Prince who, despite losing the pairs 2-1, squeezed home.

Abingdon United Social Club battled back from 4-1 down to triumph 5-4 against Cowley Workers Club A.

Michael Wilkes, Steve Fisher, Dan Smith and Mark Breakspear led the comeback.

In the ladies’ league, Donnington Community Centre B edged Six Bells 5-4 in Section 2.

After trailing 2-0, the visitors fought back to lead 4-2, thanks to wins from Claire Armstrong, Simone Proffitt, Teresa Puttock and Janet Munt.

Bells lost the pairs 2-1, but the one leg was enough to secure victory.




Premier & Section 1: Cowley Workers A 4, Abingdon United SC 5; Kidlington Football Club 2, Kidlington Green SC 7; Democrats B 4, Prince of Wales 5.

Section 2: Black Bull 3, Chequers Inn B 6; Bell Inn 7, George Bar B 2.

Section 3: Bullnose Morris 4, Cricketers Arms C 5; Chequers Inn A 6, Littlemore Rugby Club B 3.

Section 4: Donnington CC C 4, Queens Head 5; George Bar A 4, Florence Park CC A 5.

Section 5: Gladiators 3, Cowley Workers B 6.

Section 6: Donnington CC B 6, White Hart 3; Horspath Cricket Club 5, Red Lion B 4; Rose Hill CC 3, Marston RBL B 6.


Premier & Section 1: Red Lion 4, Witney Snooker Club 5; Florence Park CC A 6, Blackbird Bar 3; Blackbird Leys Bowls Club 8, Cowley Workers 1.

Section 2: George Lounge B 4, Six Bells 5; Six Bells 4, Donnington CC B 5.

Section 3: Chequers Inn B 7, George Lounge A 2; Cowley Workers A 4, Bletchingdon SC 5.

Section 4: Florence Park CC C 4, Kings Arms 5; Gladiators 8 Chequers Inn A 1; New Club 3, Masons Arms 6; Donnington CC A 4, Duke of Monmouth 5.

Section 5: Cowley Workers B 5, Kidlington Football Club A 4; Prince of Wales 6, George Bar 3; Vikings SC 2, New Club 7.


S Holly (Kidlington Green SC) 2, N Russell (Kidlington Green SC), D Muddiman (Kidlington Football Club), R Adnams (Democrats), S Wilkes, D Smith (both Abingdon United SC), S Key, S Bennett (both Bell Inn), D Simons (George Bar), D Webb (Chequers Inn B), G Baker (Black Bull), C Evans (White Hart), R Beauchamp, K Ashmall (both Marston RBL B).


S West (Cowley Workers B) 150, T Ballard (Prince of Wales) 122, S Holly (Kidlington Green SC) 121, W Bright (George Bar A) 118, M Oliver (Cowley Workers A) 118, S Coling (Chequers Inn B) 118, M Breakspear (Abingdon United SC) 111, P Kennett (Red Lion B) 111, S Davison (Bell Inn ) 111, P Smith (Kidlington Football Club) 106, A Stevens (Cowley Workers A) 106, D Elderkin (Rose Hill CC) 102, M Bayliss (Democrats) 100.