NEAL Russell was the surprise winner of the men’s singles on a great night for Kidlington Green Social Club at the ODDA Summer League finals night.

The Kidlington hot-shot claimed his first singles crown with an upset 2-0 victory over nine-times champion Jon Jukes, who was competing at his home Cowley Workers Club venue.

Sue Burns made it a Kidlington double when she defeated clubmate Katrina Blackman 2-0 to take her first ladies’ singles title.

Blackman opened up with a score of 121 but Burns replied with 140 to take control of the first leg and smart finishing saw her home.

The duo then teamed up to win the ladies’ pairs by defeating the Red Lion’s June Rouse and Ali Bateman.

Jukes made amends when he and he and Aaran Stevens defeated Kevin Wilkins and Tom Baughan (Challow British Legion) in a tight men’s pairs final, which was decided by Stevens’s clinical finishing.

Stevens also starred in the men’s seven-a-side final, defeating Mark Breakspear in the decider to give Cowley Workers a 4-3 win over defending champions Abingdon United Social Club.

Kidlington Green completed a clean sweep of the ladies’ titles when they beat Blackbird Bar 4-2 in the seven-a-side final.

Sue Simms won the opening game for Blackbird, who were put to flight after that.

l GEORDIE Grant hit three 180s as Premier side Cowley Workers beat Section 1 opponents Prince of Wales 8-1 in the ODDA Winter League.

Meanwhile, Clare Bywaters produced a rare 12-darter (100-140-180 and a 161 finish) as Florence Park Community Centre A swept aside fellow Ladies’ Premier Section side Witney Snooker Club 9-0.



Premier & Section 1: Democrats Club 4, Abingdon United FC 5; Kidlington Green SC 6, Challow RBL 3; Cowley Workers Club 8, Prince of Wales 1.

Section 2: Littlemore Rugby Club A 2, Chequers Inn B 7; Black Bull 6, George Lounge A 3; Bell 4, Cricketers Arms B 5.

Section 3: Bullnose Morris 7, Littlemore Rugby Club B 2; Red Lion A 3, Original Swan A 6.

Section 4: Marston RBL A 2, Duke of Monmouth 7; Six Bells 7, Masons Arms 2; Donnington CC C 6, Florence Park CC A 3; George Bar A 2, Queens Head 7.

Section 5: Butchers Arms 3, Cowley Workers Club B 6; George Lounge B 6, East Oxford Con Club 3.

Section 6: Donnington CC D 8, Marston RBL B 1; Horspath CC 8, New Club 1; Rose Hill CC 5, White Hart 4; Florence Park CC B 6, Red Lion B 3.


Premier & Section 1: Florence Park CC A 9, Witney Snooker Club 0; Red Lion 5, Blackbird Bar 4; Blackbird Leys Bowls Club 8, Florence Park CC B 1; Catherine Wheel 4, Donnington CC 5.

Section 2: Kidlington FC B 3, Six Bells 6; George Lounge B 3, Berinsfield CC 6.

Section 4: Donnington CC A 5, Chequers Inn A 4; Gladiators 8, Duke of Monmouth 1; Florence Park CC 3,Masons Arms 6.

Section 5: Vikings SC 3, Florence Park CC D 6; Prince of Wales 4, Kidlington FC A 5.


G Grant (Cowley Workers A) 3; T Wood (Cowley Workers A), A Stevens (Cowley Workers); B Brown (Littlemore RFC A), A Allday (Littlemore RFC A), D Beavan (Red Lion), G Moss (Duke of Monmouth), R Huggins (Six Bells), T Jones (Littlemore RFC A).


C Room (Black Bull) 120, A Stevens (Cowley Workers) 117, C Bywaters (Florence Park CC A Ladies|) 111, D Smith (Abingdon United SC) 111, A Allday (Littlemore RFC A) 108, P Palmer (Florence Park CC B) 102, M Bayliss (Democrats Club ) 100.