JOE Simpson is celebrating after breaking the course record at Burford twice in a week.

The 21-year-old has seen his handicap tumble from scratch to plus two in the process.

His first round came when playing in the Stan Norton Trophy, where four birdies on the back nine saw him card a six-under-par 65.

But the record stood for only seven days.

Playing in the Harvest Cup, Simpson got off to a perfect start with a birdie at the first hole.

He picked up three shots in as many holes, starting from the par-five sixth, to reach the turn in 32 – four-under for his round.

Another birdie at the tenth brought the record within sight again and he reached six-under once again with a three at the par-four 14th.

Simpson still needed to make another shot to set a new low mark, but obliged with a birdie at the 18th to sign for a seven-under-par 64.

It capped a good month for the Burford youngster, who also reached the last-32 of the English Men’s Amateur Championship at The Berkshire, only getting knocked out at the 22nd hole.

l EDDIE Pepperell was on hand as Frilford Heath officially opened their six-hole Yellow Course yesterday.

For the full story, see next Tuesday’s Oxford Mail.



Prescott Penny (fourball betterball stableford): 1 J Danby & J Mort 47pts, 2 R Brock & K Alder 44, 3 A O’Donnell & R Mills 43.

Junior club championship: 1 F Szafmauer 67+66=133 (cb), 2 J Hudson 67+66=133, 3 H Hall 70+65=135.

Midweek stableford: 1 M Tippett 40pts, 2 D Dobson 37 (cb), 3 B Knapp 37.

Club match – Seniors: North Oxford 4, The Wychwood 2. Mixed: The Wychwood 3, North Oxford 3.

Ladies’ Closed Meeting: 1 J Northover 89-18=71, 2 T Traynor 86-14=72 (cb), 3 I Dachtler 92-20=72. Best front nine: S White 45 gross. Best back nine: J Simmie 44 gross.

PM Foursomes: 1 R Morris & S Simms 27 nett, 2 S White & M Woodley 27.5.

Millet Trophy: 1 J Northover, 2 A Barras, 3 J Jones.


Midweek Stableford: 1 R Muldoon 40pts, 2 T Woodford 36, 3 M Keen 35.

Guy Biggs Trophy: 1 B Holman 82-12=71, 2= H Wiggins 95-22=73, B Glover 86-13=73, R Davies 87-14=73.

Medal 8 – Div 1: 1 R Ferguson 72-6=66, 2 R Poore 77-9=68, 3= D Wiggins 76-6=70, R Mangan 79-9=70, S Prew 77-7=70. Div 2: 1 C Keely 84-15=69, 2 J Allen 83-13=70, 3= T Dwyer 89-18=71, S Turner 86-15=71.