Barton United won the Hedley Toms/Michael Brown Memorial Trophy Final after a 2-1 victory against AFC Jericho at Abingdon Town.

However, the losers did themselves no favours after being reduced to nine men – one of their red cards coming after just eight minutes.

An explosive opening saw Jericho’s Aston Shaw have his shirt pulled by an opponent, but retaliated by using an elbow and was promptly dismissed.

However, the setback did not stop Jericho from taking the lead, full back Kamen Matthews floating a left-wing cross-cum-sort that flew in over the head of goalkeeper Harry Jenkins.

It took Barton just six minutes to draw level though, man-of-the-match Jamie McCaig firing in a shot that was parried by Jack Hastings, but Tom Payne reacted quickest to poke home the equaliser.

Just before the break, McCaig ran onto a fine Rich Hathaway through ball and coolly slotted home to put Barton ahead.

Jericho tried to find an equaliser early in the second half, but their hopes disappeared on 68 minuteswhen midfielder Keiran Davis jumped into a tackle, which was deemed violent conduct as he was dismissed.

The nine men of Jericho hung on gamely and came close to grabbing a late equaliser after putting several dangerous balls into the box.

But Jenkins kept them at bay and Barton held on to lift their first UTV trophy.