IAN Johnston claimed a six-wicket haul as Charlbury edged nearer the title by brushing aside Stonesfield by three wickets in their penultimate OCA League game.

Stonesfield were dismissed for 70 in the Division 1 clash, Johnston taking 6-24 in his 12 overs.

The visitors made hard work of their run chase before reaching 71-7.

Faringdon crushed visitors Yarnton & Cowley by nine wickets as they skittled them out for 38.

Mike Hume (4-13) and Ken Hodgson (4-25) combined to run through the Yarnton card, and then Faringdon cruised to 39-1.

Oxenford won an exciting game at home to Wolvercote by four wickets.

After electing to bat, Wolvercote reached 150 all out as Mark Child hit 53 and Tom Stewart-Liberty 45, Rafiullah Kakar taking 4-26.

Ayaz Mallick scored 31 in Oxenford’s reply, leading them to victory at 152-6, despite 4-43 from Brian George.

In Division 2, Wootton & Boars Hill closed the gap on leaders Witney Swifts to 16 points with a nine-run win at Westcott.

Billy Webb top-scored with 71, but his side managed only 131 all out.

It proved just enough as Damien Wiskin took 4-29 and Webb 3-42 as Westcott fell to 122 all out.

Swifts slumped to an eight-wicket defeat at home to Clifton Hampden.

Laurence Harvey’s 4-34 restricted Swifts to 147-8, before Morley Benson (75no) steered Clifton to 148-2.

There was an eight-wicket win for Broughton & North Newington at home to Chadlington, condemning them to relegation.

James Morgan (4-24) and Tom Hill (3-24) were on song for Broughton as Chadlington were shot out for 85, Broughton reaching 86-2 in reply.

Eynsham’s 28-run win at Chipping Norton eased their relegation fears.

Sam Jones (50) and Roland Margerison (41) helped Eynsham to 231-8, Charith Karawita takin 4-47.

Rhys Warner-Carter’s unbeaten 54 helped Chippy past 200, but they finished on 203-6.

Wantage edged past hosts Marsh Gibbon by one wicket.

James Scott was in fine form with 82 not out in Marsh Gibbon’s 152 all out, but 74 not out for David Spencer helped Wantage over the winning line at 153-9.

Stanton Harcourt took over at the top of Division 3 as they ran out four-wicket winners at Risinghurst.

Andy Walker (3-31) helped to dismiss Risinghurst for 147, before Chris Pascoe hit 39 and Jake Souch 35 not out in Stanton’s 150-6.

They replaced Middleton Cheney, who lost by 64 runs at Cairns Fudge.

Steve Shaw (39no), Andy Small (36) and Tom Small (30) led Fudge to 178-8 in their 45 overs, Sam Hanson taking 4-43.

Harry Newall returned 3-29 in Middleton’s reply as they fell to 114 all out.

Steve Litten’s 5-21 sent hosts Kilkenny tumbling to 96 all out as Kidlington won by 53 runs.

Earlier, Edd Wilmot hit 44 and Sam Rodway 32 as Kidlington posted 149-8.

Edd Howlett claimed 6-12 but was on the losing side as Fringford beat Watlington by five runs.

Batting first, Fringford were dismissed for 136, but three wickets apiece for Ian Hedley and Phil King helped to bowl out the visitors for 131.

Tetsworth saw off visitors Hanborough by 60 runs.

Kailash Meghji top-scored with 73 as Tetsworth reached 162 all out, and that proved way beyond Hanborough as they fell to 102 all out, Sailesh Babu takin 5-21.

Bampton won their top-of-the-table clash at home to Brill by six wickets after shooting the leaders out for 38 in Division 4.

Julian Easterbrook took 3-10 for Bampton, who reached 39-4.

There was no repeat of Steve McComb’s heroics of last week as Dorchester lost by seven wickets at home to Uffington.

Adrian Redhead hit 63 and Thom Airs 30 not out in Dorchester’s 206-8, McComb being out for a single run, following his 40 off the final over last week.

In reply, Uffington reached 210-3 as Shiva Alva top-scored with 59.

Sunningwell edged past visitors Swinbrook by three wickets.

Ali Khushi scored an excellent 97 in Swinbrook’s 195 all out, Nathan Himpson taking 4-58.

Sunningwell replied with 198-7 as Thomas Harris hit 51 and Dom Whinfrey 37 – a knock containing five sixes.

Marcham defeated hosts West Ilsley by 72 runs.

Tristan Barratt (58) and Chris Webb (30) helped Marcham to 163 all out, and then Michael Palmer took 4-33 and Stuart Armstrong 3-11 in West Ilsley’s 91 all out.

GEORGE Townsend returned superb figures of 7-26 as Ducklington romped to a ten-wicket victory at Great Horwood 2nd in Division 5.

Horwood were shot out for 53 on a very damp pitch, Townsend the chief destroyer.

Jacob Hughes then hit 30 not out to steer Ducklington to 54-0.

Hook Norton all-but secured the title with a crushing 152-run win at home to Kennington.

Melvyn Riley (90), Adam Bennett (63) and Alex Plant (56) helped Hooky to 272-9.

Richard Knight claimed 4-25 as Kennington were all out for 120.

Hooky need just one more point to secure the title.

Combe slipped to a one-wicket defeat at Radley.

Chris Moore’s 58 not out was the only bright spot as Combe crawled to 104-8 in their 45 overs.

Radley too, lost regular wickets, but edged to victory at 105-9, despite 4-36 from Dave Gardner.

Tom Cannon took 5-18 to help Steventon to a 78-run win at Wolvercote 2nd.

Chasing Steventon’s 125 all out, Wolvercote collapsed for 47 as Cannon ran riot.

Shrivenham’s Division 6 title hopes were dented as they lost by one wicket at East & West Hendred 2nd.

Shrivenham fell to 165 all out as Pete Beckley took 4-28.

Elliot Hutt’s 42 was crucial in Hendred’s reply as they edged home at 168-9.

Second-placed Tetsworth 2nd closed the gap with a 19-run win at Charlbury 2nd.

Tim Jarvis claimed 7-18 as Tetsworth were bowled out for 104, but Ayman Aman (3-8) and Haider Zaman (3-42) sent Charlbury tumbling to 85 all out.

Oxenford 2nd’s Pranay Meshram took 6-11 as his side hammered Wootton & Boars Hill 2nd by 165 runs.

Earlier, Devendra Meena hit 79 not out in Oxenford’s 210-7, before Meshram’s haul led to Wootton tumbling to 45 all out.

Division 7 leaders Yarnton & Cowley 2nd defeated visitors Chesterton by one wicket to stretch their advantage.

Chesterton were restricted to 113-8, before Yarnton lost regular wickets, thanks to Jimmy Appleton (6-32), but they edged home.

Second-placed Middleton Cheney 2nd lost by 78 runs at home to Witney Swifts 2nd.

Swifts were all out for 136, Ben Horne top-scoring with 40.

Graeme Woodward then claimed 4-19 and Harry Hamblin 3-14 as Middleton were all out for 58 in their reply.

Risinghurst 2nd closed in on the Division 8 North title, beating second-placed Wolvercote 3rd by 40 runs.

Raj Kumar top-scored with 47 in Risinghurst’s 126 all out, Alyn Davies taking 5-26.

Muammad Khalil then claimed 5-6 as Wolvercote were shot out for 86.

Hook Norton 2nd’s John Weaver took 6-27 to help his side to a 120-run win at Charlbury 3rd.

Clive Plant (53) helped Hooky to 178 all out, Kieran Reynolds taking 4-61.

Charlbury were then dismissed for 58 as Weaver took his six-wicket haul.

Westcott 2nd defeated hosts Chadlington 2nd by three wickets.

Restricting Chadlington to 127-8, Tom Young taking 4-25, Westcott reached 128-7 as Jim Forrest hit 43.

Sixteen-year-old George Welch scored 56 not out and took 5-25 to help Deddington 2nd to a 53-run win at Kidlington 3rd.

Welch shared a sixth-wicket stand of 76 with dad David, as Deddington set 185-6.

Welch then helped dismiss Kidlington for 132.

Chalgrove edged past hosts Marcham 2nd by five runs to keep up their title bid alive in Division 8 South.

Tom McDermott top-scored with 60 in Chalgrove’s 174-8.

Richard Murphy’s 5-46 was key to their victory, helping to bowl Marcham out for 169, despite 69 from Oliver Deans.

Letcombe brushed aside hosts Kennington 2nd by nine wickets.

Sam May took 4-6 in Kennington’s 71 all out, before Phil Austin struck 54 not out to steer Letcombe home at 72-1.

Watlington 2nd hammered visitors Sunningwell 2nd by ten wickets after dismissing them for 47, Rama Garimella taking 5-11.