ASTON Rowant 2nd were crowned Cherwell League Division 1 champions on Saturday.

Skipper Tim Morgan received the trophy from guest speaker Peter Baxter (ex-producer of Test Match Special) at the league’s presentation evening held at the Belfry Hotel, Milton Common.

As they are a second team, Rowant cannot be promoted to the Home Counties Premier League, that honour going instead to runners-up Great Brickhill.

Westbury claimed the Peter Baker Trophy for total points won by a club’s top two teams.

In their first season, Westbury clinched both the Division 4 and Division 8 titles.

Other dual winners on the night were Didcot, who captured the Division 3 & Division 9 South crowns through their first and third teams in their last season at their Power Station ground.

They are moving to a new facility at Boundary Park.

The 1st XI batting award went to Stokenchurch’s prolific Arshad Latif with 837 runs, while the bowling prize was won by Blewbury & Wallingford’s Scott Harris with 55 wickets.

Minster Lovell, the OCA champions, will have their elevation into the Cherwell League voted on at their annual meeting next month.

ROLL OF HONOUR DIVISIONAL WINNERS Div 1: Aston Rowant 2nd. Div 2: Oxford Downs. Div 3: Didcot. Div 4: Westbury. Div 5: Thame Town 2nd. Div 6: Long Marston 2nd. Div 7: Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd. Div 8: Westbury 2nd. Div 9 North: Buckingham Tn 4th. Div 9 South: Didcot 3rd.

OTHER AWARDS Peter Baker Trophy: Westbury. Spirit of Cricket Award: Kimble. Umpire of Year: D Richards.

1st XI batting: A Latif (Stokenchurch) 837 runs. 1st XI bowling: S Harris (Blewbury & Wallingford) 55 wkts. 2nd XI batting: T Boardman (Westbury) 850 runs. 2nd XI bowling: A Worby (Cropredy) 41 wkts. 3rd, 4th & 5th XI batting: S Barnes (Gt & Little Tew) 537 runs. 3rd, 4th & 5th XI bowling: T Foster (Aston Rowant 3rd) 46 wkts.

PROVISIONAL UPS & DOWNS Div 1: promoted Gt Brickhill; relegated Leighton Buzzard.

Div 2: promoted Oxford Downs, Abingdon; relegated Wolverton.

Div 3: promoted Didcot, Bledlow Village; relegated Shipton 2nd, Tiddington 2nd.

Div 4: promoted Westbury, Bicester & N Oxford, East Oxford; relegated Chearsley, Banbury 4th.

Div 5: promoted Thame 2nd, Horspath 3rd; relegated Kimble, Oxford 3rd.

Div 6: promoted Long Marston 2nd, Cropredy 2nd; relegated Bledlow Village 2nd, Horley 2nd.

Div 7: promoted Oxford & Bletchingdon 2nd, Sandford St Martin 2nd: relegated Oxford 4th, Shipton 3rd, Wolverton 2nd.

Div 8: promoted Westbury 2nd, Witney Mills; relegated Tiddington 3rd, Banbury 5th Div 9 North: promoted Buckingham 4th.

Div 9 South: promoted Didcot 3rd.