WESTBURY sealed the OCA League Division 1 title in style as they crushed Stonesfield by eight wickets.

It marked Westbury’s 11th victory in a row as Richard Tredwell’s men deservedly lifted the crown.

Andy Crawford hit 57 for visitors Stonesfield, but they were all out for 146 as Olly Tice took 4-23.

Tom Gurney then hit 84 not out and Ben Rae 31 to lead Westbury to 149-2 and the title.

The relegation battle will go down to the final day after Cowley and Charlbury both won.

Cowley saw off already-relegated hosts Chadlington by five wickets.

Jonathan Orders scored 50 not out in Chadlington’s 167-4, but 49 from Bilal Khan and 40 from Maseh Sadiqi led Cowley to 170-5.

Charlbury edged past visitors Radley by three wickets to keep their survival hopes alive.

Jake Godfrey took 5-64 in Radley’s 197-9, before Graham Atkins (45) and Ajit Shah (37) saw Charlbury to 198-7.

Great Horwood’s Josh Nix led his side to a seven-wicket win at home to Oxenford.

Nix claimed 6-44 in Oxenford’s 145 all out, before Sam Willett hit 60 and Nix 39 not out in Horwood’s 151-3.

In Division 2, runners-up Chipping Norton beat champions Faringdon by nine wickets.

Dave Brassett took 4-68 to restrict the home side to 187 all out, Nick Giles hitting 60.

Sam Evans then hit 91 not out and Brassett 71 to lead Chippy home at 190-1.

Oxford Mail:

  • Dave Brassett celebrates one of his four wickets for Chipping Norton

Wantage were relegated following a four-wicket defeat at home to Broughton & North Newington.

Tom Hill (3-19) and James Morgan (3-20) helped to dismiss the hosts for 122, and then Olly Evans (54no) steered Broughton to 125-6.

Cairns Fudge’s Division 3 promotion hopes suffered a setback with a five-wicket defeat at home to Fringford, who finished in the bottom two nonetheless.

Fudge would have been satisfied with their 221-7, Mark Chandler top-scoring with 49.

But a fine innings from 14-year-old Thomas Bacon (80) and 75 from Harry Collard helped Fringford to 223-5.

Wootton & Boars Hill kept their promotion hopes alive with a five-wicket win at home to Westcott.

After dismissing their visitors for 147, Wootton reached 149-5 as Ben Tew hit 53.

Stanton Harcourt wrapped up the Division 4 title in style with a crushing nine-wicket win against visitors Uffington.

Andy Walker took 5-14 and Luke Pettifer 4-10 as Stanton rolled the visitors out for a paltry 31, before easing to 32-1 in 9.3 overs.

Kidlington had to settle for the runners-up spot, despite a 79-run victory at Dorchester.

Richard Walker’s 71 helped Kidlington to 207 all out, Lawrence Belcher taking 5-38.

Dorchester were then bowled out for 128 as Dan Farrant returned 3-23 in 12 overs.

Division 5 champions Sunningwell had to fight all the way as they edged out Hook Norton by one wicket.

Hooky were all out for 156 as Sam Sherpa-Moore hit 57.

Richard Sutton made 65 in the hosts’ reply, but they lost regular wickets to the bowling of Dan Knight (3-27) and Adam Bennett (3-35).

It was left to Adam Duffield to hit the winning runs off the final ball as Sunningwell secured a thrilling victory.

Great Horwood 2nd wrapped up the second promotion spot in Division 6 when running out 73-run winners at Kidlington 2nd.

Simon Ridgway hit 62 in Horwood’s 217-5, and then claimed 3-28 to help restrict the home side to 144-9, Peter McHenry taking 3-22.

It meant Bampton’s crushing 153-run win at home to Hanney proved in vain.

Grant Print (90) and Richard Pitt (62) led Bampton to 203-5, before Ben Brown claimed a hat-trick in figures of 4-7 and Ben King took 3-21 as the visitors were out for 50.

Wolvercote 2nd’s Chris Babbs starred in an eightwicket Division 7 win at East & West Hendred 2nd.

Babbs made 73 not out and Ali Dent 44 not out as Wolvercote chased 128-8.

Roland Margerison hit an unbeaten century for Eynsham 2nd in their 90-run victory at Marcham 2nd.

Margerison finished 102 not out as Eynsham posted 217-5.

Kevin Reid then bowled an economical spell of 4-16 to restrict the hosts to 127-6.

There were two outstanding bowling performances in Division 10 where Stanton Harcourt 2nd crushed hosts Westcott 2nd by ten wickets.

Scott Hambridge took 5-5 and Matthew Fleet 4-0 as the home side were out for 39.

Harcourt raced to 43-0 in seven overs.

  • THE OCA League representative side edged out their Cherwell League counterparts in the annual challenge match, at Faringdon on Sunday.

Cherwell League were restricted to 211-8 in their 45 overs, Steve Green hitting 38, James Beesley 37 and Arshad Latif 33, Adam Tucker taking 3-39 for the OCA.

The OCA edged home at 215-8, as Conor Taylor hit 92 and Sam Willett 58, while Mark Strong took 5-44.


Cherwell League 211-8 (S Green 38, J Beesley 37, A Latif 33, A Tucker 3-39), OCA League 215-8 (C Taylor 92, S Willett 58, M Strong 5-44). OCA League won by 2 wkts.