Banbury Central A won the most fiercely-contested Summertown Trophy and pocketed the £1,000 first prize.

The ten qualifying teams from Oxfordshire battled it out at Banbury Chestnuts, playing each other over seven ends in a round-robin format.

Carterton B were the early pacesetters before Watlington B won three games to go seven clear with a margin of +22 shots.

However, with just two games to go Carterton B had put themselves back in contention with a nine-shot win over Watlington to throw the competition wide open.

It was all to play for going into the last round, but Central’s team of Andy Wilkin, Lee Young, Graham Morbey, and Nigel Galletly claimed first prize on +20.

Watlington A had to settle for second and took the Astall Ley Trophy, with Headington B finishing a close third.