Carterton lifted the Oxfordshire Bowling Association’s Hawker Cup with a 42-36 win over holders Headington in the final at Oxford City & County.

The Carterton rink of Tim Jupp, Malvyn Pitman, Shane Cooper and Gordon Walker posted the decisive success in the county’s double fours decider with a 24-12 win over Headington’s Simon Hastings, Steve Hainge, John Nicholls and Craig Nicoll.

Carterton’s other four of Andy Wise, Dan Wakeman, David Clanfield and Paul Sharman lost 24-18 to Mick Nash, Norman Rae, Ian Henwood and Paul Mabbutt on the other rink, but it wasn’t enough to stop the west Oxfordshire side capturing the trophy.

Carterton had beaten Charlbury 40-37 in the semi-finals.

Jupp, Pitman, Cooper and Walker picked up a crucial three shots on the last end to edge past Ray Hill, Nigel Siford, Mark East and David Cooper, playing against his son, 21-18.

Wise, Wakeman, Clanfield and Sharman, meanwhile fought back from 17-6 down after 16 ends to draw 19-19 with Tim Ryan, Brian Busk, David Dix and Jim Stevens.

Headington crushed South Oxford 53-25 in the other semi-final.

Hastings, Hainge, Nicholls and Nicoll blew away Roger Hall, Brian Edmondson, John Lester and George Young 36-11.

Nash, Rae, Henwood and Mabbutt were made to battle though by Richard Green, Bob Spencer, John Guest, Richard Claridge for a 17-14 win.

Charlbury won the third-fourth play-off 48-34 against South Oxford.

Ryan, Busk, Dix and Stevens swept aside Green, Spencer, Guest and Claridge 24-11.

And Hill, Siford, East and Cooper edged out Hall, Edmondson, Lester and Young 24-23.