HARWELL were crowned BB&O Championship champions after their 27-5 victory over Winslow on Saturday.

The win was their 20th in a row and sees them pick up the title.

However, the success was not as one-sided as the scoreline suggests, with the hosts only 8-0 ahead at half-time thanks to a penalty from Dave Beaven and a try from John Deverteuil.

The second half saw Harwell score three more tries from Sam Froud-Davis, Carl Tappin and Kev Wood to earn the bonus point, with two conversions from Beaven.

In between, the visitors had long periods of possession and dominated territory, and it was no more than they deserved to score a late try – but it could do nothing to dampen Harwell’s celebrations.

Abingdon enjoyed a 41-0 victory over rivals Didcot.

Frazer McCairns (2), Luke Matt-hews, Paul Rynhardt and Dale Cross scored tries, with fly half Mark roberts converting all five and adding a further two penalties.