The Penguins were the first winners of the inaugural Alan Wright Trophy after a 36-22 victory over Oxford University at Iffley Road on Wednesday night.

Penguins were coached by former Dark Blues director of rugby Steve Hill and included Chinnor’s Alex Waddingham, Oxford Harlequins’ Martin Nutt, plus Chipping Norton’s Matt Dawson as a replacement.

Fly half Harry Guinness captained Oxford in the absence of regular skipper John Carter.

It was all Penguins early on as they scored three tries before Oxford had got out of their own half.

Full back Peter Clarke, centre Paddy Smith and flanker Julian Poff touched down, with fly half Luke Cousins converting one.

Dark Blues’ full back Matt Janney twisted over the line during their first real attack, but Nutt’s interception try, converted by Cousins, made it 24-5 at the break.

After 20 uneventful minutes, the students suddenly sprung into life, with prop Lewis Anderson finishing a slick attack.

No 8 Louis Mather dived over soon afterwards for Janney to convert and an unlikely comeback was suddenly on.

But a breakaway try, finished by Penguins wing Tim Catling and converted by Clarke, sealed the win for the invitational side.

Oxford replacement Mike Harris and Penguins sub James Crozier added further tries to cap an entertaining evening.