OCB District Cup

A STRONG batting display saw Shipton-under-Wychwood win the inaugural competition for the Wilf Bennett Trophy with a 47-run victory over Great & Little Tew.

Hosts Tew inserted Simon Hole’s side after the start had been delayed due to rain, but the newly-crowned Cherwell League champions smashed 51 off the last four overs to reach 171-4.

Captain Hole top-scored with 48, while the real damage came from Charlie Brain (39no) and Ian Lewis (34no), the former hitting three sixes in the final over.

Harry Smith and Dave Powles got Tew’s reply off to a reasonable start, but fell to identical well-held catches by Ryan Newhook at long off in Jason Hunt’s first over.

Tew never really recovered and didn’t help themselves by conceding four run-outs, including that of top-scorer Joe White (36), who had also been their best bowler.

A Shipton victory was inevitable and was sealed with two balls remaining when Graham Newhook bowled Ian Bryan with a full toss.