THREE-TIME World Cup winner Maciej Janowski has been announced as the rider to lead brand new team Oxford Spires in the Premiership next year.

Janowski returns to British Speedway for the first time in eight years, having won eight Grand Prix and three World Cups in his career so far.

Also in the Spires side will be three-time British champion Chris Harris, plus previous Premiership winners Nicolai Klindt and Rohan Tungate.

Charles Wright, British champion in 2019, Cheetahs youngster Ashton Boughen, and fan favourite Lewis Kerr complete the Spires line-up.

READ ALSO: Oxford Cheetahs confirm squad for next season

Team manager Peter Schroeck said: “We’re at the beginning of one of the most exciting periods in our club’s proud 84-year history.

“The Premiership is one of world speedway’s most competitive leagues and we’ve built a team we believe can elevate our reach to not just Oxfordshire and its surrounds, but globally.

“Having Maciej lead the team is a great scoop for us. Only last year he was the third-fastest rider in the world and has an outstanding record at the highest level.

“We’ve packed the main body of the team with riders proven at Premiership level, and on the new Oxford Stadium track. Having Lewis back for a second season with the club was something we really wanted to make happen too and I have no doubt our supporters are just as pleased as we are.

“We’ve been really impressed by the commitment and determination of Ashton too, and next year represents a great opportunity for him riding at Premiership and Championship level for us.

“Of course, it’s the off-season and the boys are doing their own things. But we’ve connected online and already the team spirit we have prioritised with the Cheetahs and Chargers in previous seasons is there which I’m happy about.”