OXFORD United will host second tier Swansea City in the first round of the Carabao Cup.

The South Wales outfit won the competition in 2013, beating Bradford City 5-0 in the final.

United last faced the Swans in the third round of the Emirates FA Cup in January 2016.

Michael Appleton led the U’s, then in Sky Bet League Two, to a memorable 3-2 win against Swansea, who were at the time a Premier League side.

A Liam Sercombe penalty and double from Kemar Roofe proved enough to get past the top flight team.

READ AGAIN: Oxford United to begin 2022/23 season away at Derby County

First round fixtures of the Carabao Cup will take place in the week commencing August 8, sandwiched between United’s first home game of the Sky Bet League One season, against Cambridge United, and a trip to Bristol Rovers.

Karl Robinson’s side reached the second round of the Carabao Cup last season, losing 2-0 at Queens Park Rangers after winning at Burton Albion on penalties.

Burnley, Watford and the Premier League clubs not competing in Europe will join this year’s competition in the second round, while those in Europe will enter in the third round.