JOSH Ashby and Ben Dudzinski have been named in the Vanarama National League South team of the season.

The Oxford City duo were recognised by fellow sixth-tier clubs after helping their side reach the play-off semi-finals.

Midfielder Ashby enjoyed a productive second full season at Court Place Farm, scoring ten goals and adding the same number of assists.

READ MORE: Ben Dudzinski hopes Oxford City can hold onto key players this summer

The 26-year-old, who joined following his release by Oxford United in 2018, was a regular starter as City finished fifth in the table.

Goalkeeper Dudzinski claimed 14 clean sheets to help his side achieve the third-best defensive record in National League South.

Half of those shutouts came in an extraordinary run of results between October and December, when City shipped one goal in eight matches.

Dudzinski went 450 minutes – seven and a half hours – without conceding during this run.

His final clean sheet came in last Wednesday’s play-off eliminator against Eastbourne Borough, which City won 2-0.

Ross Jenkins’ side bowed out in the semi-finals, losing 3-0 at Dorking Wanderers.

Champions Maidstone United picked up the manager and player of the year prizes, won by Hakan Hayrettin and Joan Luque respectively.

All 21 clubs in National League South took part in the team of the season vote. They were not allowed to select their own players.


Ben Dudzinski (Oxford City), Barry Fuller (Dorking Wanderers), Joe Ellul (Maidstone United), Tom Bonner (Dartford), Jerome Binnom-Williams (Maidstone United), Jack Jebb (Dartford), Josh Ashby (Oxford City), Matthew Briggs (Dorking Wanderers), Alfie Rutherford (Dorking Wanderers), Shaun Jeffers (St Albans City), Joan Luque (Maidstone United).