The end of the English Football League regular season means we are closer to knowing the 24 teams that will compete in Sky Bet League One in 2022/23.

The Sky Bet Championship and Sky Bet League Two took centre stage yesterday for their final round of fixtures, after the third tier concluded the previous weekend.

It means we now know 20 of the teams that are guaranteed League One football next season, with the other four places to be determined by the play-offs.

KARL ROBINSON COLUMN: We are leaving no stone unturned in our quest to improve next season

All the drama came in the fourth tier, where Forest Green Rovers and Exeter City were already guaranteed promotion.

The Gloucestershire club will play in League One for the first time next season, having only reached the Football League five years ago.

The final automatic promotion spot was between Northampton Town and Bristol Rovers, with the latter needing to win by five goals more than the Cobblers.

Incredibly, the Gas managed it, beating already-relegated Scunthorpe United 7-0 to pip their rivals, who triumphed 3-1 at Barrow.

Elliot Anderson scored Rovers’ crucial seventh goal five minutes from time, with hundreds of home fans invading the pitch as a result – leading referee Charles Breakspear to threaten to abandon the game.

It secured an immediate return to League One for Joey Barton’s side, who were relegated in 2020/21.

Northampton face Mansfield Town in the play-off semi-finals, while Port Vale take on Swindon Town – raising the possibility of two A420 derbies next season.

In the Championship, Peterborough United, Derby County and Barnsley were already relegated before the final day.

The final League One promotion spot will go to one of MK Dons, Sheffield Wednesday, Sunderland or Wycombe.

The Chairboys go to Stadium:MK tonight for the second leg of their play-off semi-final with a 2-0 lead.

Sunderland are 1-0 up at the halfway stage of their tie with Wednesday, ahead of tomorrow’s return fixture at Hillsborough.


  • Peterborough United
  • Derby County
  • Barnsley
  • Plymouth Argyle
  • Oxford United
  • Bolton Wanderers
  • Portsmouth
  • Ipswich Town
  • Accrington Stanley
  • Charlton Athletic
  • Cambridge United
  • Cheltenham Town
  • Burton Albion
  • Lincoln City
  • Shrewsbury Town
  • Morecambe
  • Fleetwood Town
  • Forest Green Rovers
  • Exeter City
  • Bristol Rovers
  • THREE of MK Dons, Sheffield Wednesday, Sunderland, Wycombe Wanderers
  • ONE of Northampton Town, Port Vale, Swindon Town, Mansfield Town