CHARLIE Turner struck a superb half-century as Horspath were crowned Oxfordshire Under 15 League champions with a 33-run victory in the final over hosts Great & Little Tew.

Turner retired unbeaten on 52 – as per competition rules – having brought up his fifty in style with a six to add to four boundaries, as Horspath posted 156-7 off 20 overs after being put in to bat.

Horspath’s total was boosted by 33 extras, including 23 wides, while Henry Nichols (2-32) was Tew’s most successful bowler.

Tew were then restricted to 123-4, despite the efforts of Henry MacDonald, who made an unbeaten 50 retired with one four and four sixes, and Nichols with 40.

Man-of-the-match Turner (1-12), Horspath captain Josh Richardson (1-14) and Chris Batten (1-15) ensured the hosts were always behind the run rate.