ADAM Cook claimed super figures of 4-8 as Cumnor wrapped up Tier 1A with a thrilling two-wicket victory at home to Abingdon Vale.

It means Cumnor will take on Tier 1B winners Westbury in this weekend’s Tier 1 play-off match for the title.

Vale opted to bat first despite the damp conditions and after an opening stand of 41 between Tim Chilvers and Max Owen, the visitors struggled against tight bowling.

Cook starred as they were restricted to 131-9 of a rain-reduced 35 overs, leg-spinner Sam Herbert and seamer Patrick Knightly also taking two wickets apiece.

Conditions barely improved in Cumnor’s reply, but led by Michael Race (38), they squeezed over the winning line at 135-8, despite an excellent 4-18 from Paul White.

Sandford St Martin fell at the final hurdle, losing a tight clash at Didcot by ten runs.

Vishane Perera (60) and Patrick Foster (42no) led Didcot to 212-7, before Sandford were restricted to 202-6, despite 62 from George Welch and 52 from Steve Dobson.

Challow & Childrey picked up their first win as they saw off hosts Shipton-under-Wychwood by four wickets.

In a low-scoring game, Conor Jones (4-29) and Ross Packham (3-24) restricted Shipton to 129-9 before Challow skipper Joe Harris struck an excellent 64 to lead them home at 132-6 with more than four overs to spare.

Tiddington edged a thriller at home to Bledlow Village by three runs.

The hosts were put in first and were all out for 145, Matthew Johnston hitting 52.

Harry Bartlett scored 69 in Bledlow’s reply, but young spinner Ben Smith took 4-37 as the visitors were all out for 142.

In Tier 1B, Westbury crushed hosts Bicester & North Oxford by 102 runs in a one-sided affair.

Tanuj Chopra (105) led the way, while William Gurney also scored 50.

Only Adam Stapleford-Jones got going in Bicester’s reply, hitting 57 not out, but the rest of Bicester’s batting subsided as they were restricted to 140-8.

Twyford came second after a

58-run victory at home to Cropredy.

After setting an impressive 234-9, Twyford bowled their visitors our for 176.

Aston Rowant 2nd defeated visitors Banbury 2nd by 95 runs on the Duckworth Lewis method after setting 253-6, while Dinton condemned Buckingham Town 2nd to bottom spot after an eight-run victory.

Thame Town 2nd returned to form to clinch Tier 2A with a thrilling two-wicket victory over Oxford 2nd.

Oxford batted first after winning the toss, but struggled to 144-7 in their 40 overs, Adam Hall hitting 47 and Michael Higgs taking 3-33.

Greg Jenkins struck 51 not out in Thame’s reply as they edged home at 146-8 with seven balls to spare.

Minster Lovell finished second in the group after their fourth successive win – by 64 runs at East Oxford.

Minster set 191-9 as James Mattinson hit 40 and Joey Burgess 35.

East Oxford slumped to 127 all out in their reply to finish second from bottom.

Witney Mills concluded their group games with a 46-run win over visitors Oxford Downs 2nd.

Mills batted first after winning the toss, setting 141-8 as Kane Lewis hit 41 and Liam Hare 34 not out.

Josh Garrett then took 4-15 and Ollie Burney 3-15 as Downs slumped to 95 all


A fine 85 from Pablo Mukherjee was in vain as Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts lost by five wickets against Stokenchurch.

Chris Day added 54 in Nondies’ 200-9, but Josh Triggs, who had earlier taken 4-22, then struck 97 to steer the visitors home at 201-5.

Brackley won Tier 2B with a four-wicket success at home to Leighton Buzzard.

Chasing Buzzard’s 120 all out, Brackley reached 121-6 as Adam Wirth top-scored with 70.

Horspath 2nd finished second after a four-wicket win against Long Marston 2nd.

They bowled Marston out for 135, Sam Pace taking 4-8, and then Max Smith (44) and Asad Rafiq (36) led Horspath to 138-6 in the 22nd over.

Elsewhere, Horley saw off hosts Bletchley Town by two wickets after chasing down Bletchley’s 146-9 in the 22nd over.

Horspath 3rd wrapped up Tier 3A with a crushing 112-run victory over visitors Great & Little Tew.

Dan Todd (43) and Chris Batten (47) helped Horspath to

169-8, before Saif Dogar took 4-29 and Adrian Manger 3-6 as Tew crashed to 57 all out.

Charlbury needed just 11.3 overs to reach a paltry target of 56 as they beat Eynsham by seven wickets.

In Tier 3B, Aston Rowant 3rd secured top spot as they saw off hosts Bledlow Ridge by 34 runs.

Ridge inserted their visitors, who, thanks largely to Jude Frisby (58), set 177-8.

Joseph Dodd claimed 3-25 as Ridge were bowled out for 143.

A dominant Sandford St Martin 2nd won Tier 4A at a canter with their fifth win out of six, crushing Didcot 3rd by seven wickets.

Didcot were shot out for 105 in 36 overs and then Colin Simpson hit 53 to steer Sandford home in the 22nd over.

Matt Lyver struck 98 Charlbury 2nd beat Oxford Downs 3rd by 12 runs.

Chasing their opponents’ 187-5, Downs were held to 175-5.

Leighton Buzzard Town 2nd thrashed Brackley 2nd by 145 runs to win Tier 4B.

Wayne Tyas smashed 130 in Buzzard’s excellent 231-5 and then Austin Jones took 5-13 as Brackley were shot out for 86.

Westbury 2nd beat Bicester & North Oxford 2nd in a thrilling two-run Duckworth Lewis triumph.

Bicester were bowled out for 147 in 38.5 overs, Nick Moorman hitting 78.

Westbury were just ahead of the par score at 142-6 when the rain intervened, Andrew Lees hitting 82.

In Tier 5A, Horspath 4th won the league after a thrilling tie at Abingdon Vale 3rd.

Vale set 174-9 in their 40 overs, and Horspath finished exactly level on 174-5 as Jamie Stead top-scored with 78 not out.

Brett Hounsell hit 101 not out to help Aston Rowant 4th to a 12-run win over Bledlow Ridge 2nd.

Thame Town 3rd won Tier 5B after a 121-run victory over Westbury 3rd.