BERINSFIELD remain three points clear at the top of North Berks League Division 1 after hammering hosts Lambourn Sports 5-0, writes RICHARD UNDERWOOD.

The leaders had five different goalscorers with Luke Holdsworth, Howard Hawkins, Max Palmer, David Murphy and Joe Bennett on the mark.

Long Wittenham went one better with a 6-0 victory against East Hendred.

Callum Bowler led the way with a brace, while Joe Murphy, Steve Malloy, Ed Stanhope and Will Vaukins were also on target.

Defending champions Saxton Rovers fell to a surprise 2-1 defeat at Cholsey United.

Steve Hawes and Cezar Grosu netted for the hosts, with Kyle Allsworth replying.

Two goals from Ross McDonald helped Hagbourne United to a 5-1 win over North Oxford, Chris Hewitt, Joe Parish and George Smith also scoring.

Long Wittenham Res went top of Division 2 as they saw off Marcham 4-0.

Mike Learoyd, Billy Baker, George Crowley and Chris Hunt were on target for the new leaders.

In Division 3, Watlington Town returned to the top after a 1-0 win over Letcombe Res, an own goal separating the two sides.

  • WATLINGTON Town reached the third round of the North Berks Cup with a crushing 6-0 win over Steventon.

Jake Braim (2), Brandon Burton, Calum Scrivens, Mark Slatter and Alex B’layachi found the net.

A 25-yard volley from Gavin Jones, who bagged a brace, was the pick of the goals as Grove Rangers reached round three with a 4-1 win over Sutton Courtenay.

Further goals came from Ben Hadley and Chris Hogan, with Dom Lovegrove replying.

In the Berks & Bucks Junior Cup, Saxton Rovers Res lost 4-3 at home to Thames Valley Reading League side Wargrave.

The visitors led 3-0 at the break as Stuart Moss (2) and Joe Wigmore scored, then Bradley Reaiche made it 4-0 after half-time.

Saxton hit back through Archie Smith, Harry Winn and Paul Churchouse, but they could not find an equaliser.


Div 2: East Hendred Res 4 (L Eltham 2, T Daley, B Eltham), Wantage Tn A 1 (B Hummel).

Div 3: Drayton Res 0, Marcham Res 1 (A Woodham); Berinsfield Res 9 (J Hastings 2, H Moore 2, J Gilsenan 2, J Welch, J Hinkin, M Calvo).