WATLINGTON A came out on top in the Summertown Trophy finals day.

Ten teams from around the county played each other over a seven-end round-

robin format at Banbury Chestnuts.

And it was the youthful quartet of Rob Parkes, Will Soden, Sam Watts and Chris Gilkes who held their nerve to land the title for the first time, leading by 12 shots at the close of play.

Defending champions Headington A got off to a great start, beating their B team on the last end, before showing their intentions with an emphatic win over Witney Town.

By lunchtime they were level with last year’s runners-up, Watlington, each boasting a 28-shot difference.

Watlington moved three shots clear after seven ends, with Carterton and West Witney B closing in on the leading duo.

The crucial match, however, saw the top two face each other in the penultimate clash.

Although there was little between the teams early on, Watlington surged clear late on to win 13-3 and open up an unassailable lead.

A draw in their final match against Burford was more then enough to claim the trophy.

West Witney beat Headington in the last game to seal the runners-up spot, Carterton claiming third.

  • OXFORDSHIRE triumphed in the final friendly match of the season.

A 132-114 victory over Worcestershire at Hewell BC rounded off their campaign, Ian Whelpton’s rink the big winners.

Oxfordshire 132, Worcestershire 114

Rink 1: B Jarvie, J Timms, J Lucas & A Ley won 33-18.

Rink 2: P Demczak, T Gripe, J Lafford & B Clarke won 20-10.

Rink 3: A Hunt, C Haley, K Buckle & M Morris lost 24-19.

Rink 4: S Tolhurst, R Oliver, J McGeough & I Whelpton won 32-11.

Rink 5: B Willoughby, A Smith, G Thomson & K Williams lost 31-13.

Rink 6: R Slater, J Hurren, R Barnett & M Andrew lost 20-15.

Oxfordshire lost their penultimate match 126-116 at the hands of Berkshire.

Oxfordshire 116 Berkshire 126

Rink 1: R Slater, A Fleming, R Barnett & A Ley won 20-17.

Rink 2: B Jarvie, C Haley, J McGeough & B Bloomfield won 24-22.

Rink 3: C Lewis, J Timms, I Whelpton & M Morris lost 24-15.

Rink 4: P Demczak, J Stephens, J Lucas & M Andrew won 23-21.

Rink 5: A Hunt, G Thompson, K Williams & B Clarke lost 24-17.

Rink 6: P Christmas, J Hurren, D Wedge & P Robbins lost 18-17.