SWAN A successfully retained their Greene King Oxford & District League Premier Section title when beating Black Prince 2-1, writes ANDY BEAL.

The defending champions needed just one point and they secured it when claiming the opening leg.

Black Prince levelled, but Swan triumphed in leg scores of 26-21, 20-21, 28-22.

Gladiators A will have to settle for second despite claiming maximum points against Swan B.

Kevin Giles (6-5-5) was in top form, whipping off 16 dolls as his side triumphed 25-21, 29-24, 35-30.

Mark Revill (4-4-6) hit 14 for Swan.

Section 1 is still to be decided after New Club, whose lead has been cut to three points, lost 2-1 at home to Woodman.

However, the title is in their hands as they need just one point from their final match against

second-placed Garsington Sports, who eased to a 3-0 win over Chequers A.

Donnington Club C came from behind to beat their A team and clinch the Section 2 crown.

They triumphed in leg scores of 11-23, 24-17, 20-19.

Gladiators C needed all three points to take the title race into the final week, but crucially lost the first leg in their 2-1 victory against Ampleforth Arms A.

Gary Coulthard (4-6-3) and Willy Waite (6-4-3) both clanged off 13, but it proved in vain as Bullnose Morris lost 2-1 at Red Lion A Marston – 14-22, 20-17, 22-21.

Dave Bowler (6-2-3) bagged his second six of the season as he hit 11 in Littlemore British Legion A’s 2-1 success over Six Bell A Kidlington in Section 3.

Six Bells B Kidlington will finish bottom after falling to a third straight defeat.

George B recovered from losing the first leg to beat Bells 2-1, claiming the decider in a three-stick shoot-out.

Catherine Wheel B are on the verge of being crowned Section 4 champions despite crashing to a surprise defeat at home to Northway C.

The visitors took the final leg on three sticks, meaning Catherine need a point from their last fixture.

Red Lion B Yarnton failed to take advantage when dropping a point at home to bottom place Swan C.

They lost the first leg 16-11, but recovered well to take the next two 16-10.

Joe Dunne hit a rare six for Cowley Workers, but it could not prevent visitors Green Road Club A securing a 2-1 win and their seventh victory in a row.

Three teams are still in with a shout of being crowned Section 5 champions.

Cricketers Arms Cowley lead the way by two points after they edged past Red Lion B 2-1.

Masons Arms B moved into contention with a 3-0 win at Donnington Club B, while Vikings Sports C are level on points after a 2-1 win over Ampleforth Arms B.

Chequers B are Section 6 champions after beating basement boys Golden Ball 3-0.



Premier/Section 1: George A 2, Red Lion A Yarnton, Gladiators A 3, Swan B 0; Garsington Sports 3, Chequers A 0; Swan A 2, Black Prince 1; New Club A 1, Woodman 2.

Section 2: Ampleforth Arms A 1, Gladiators C 2; Red Lion A Marston 2, Bullnose Morris A 1; Six Bells E 3, Tiddington Cricket 0; Red Lion A Kidlington 2, Six Bells D 1; Donnington Club C 2, Donnington Club A 1.

Section 3: Queens Head 1, Gladiators B 2; Rose Hill Club 2, Seacourt Bridge 1; Six Bells B 1, George B 2; Littlemore BL A 2, Six Bells A 1; Masons Arms A 2, New Club B 1.

Section 4: Catherine Wheel B 1, Northway Club C 2; Red Lion B 2, Swan C 1; Bullnose Morris B 1, Vikings Sports B 2; Cowley Workers Club 1, Green Road Club A 2.

Section 5: Cricketers Arms Cowley 2, Red Lion B 1; Tandem 2, Littlemore BL B 1; Vikings Sports C 2, Ampleforth Arms B 1; Cricketers Arms Littleworth 0, Vikings Sports D 2; Donnington Club B 0, Masons Arms B 3.

Section 6: Chequers B 3, Golden Ball 0; Duke of Monmouth 0, Catherine Wheel A 3; White Horse 2, Prince of Wales 1; Green Road Club B 2, Bletchington Sports 1; Kidlington FC A 2 , Red Lion B Kidlington 1.

Section 7: Headington Con Club 1, Kidlington FC B 2; Northway Club B 2, White Hart Wolvercote 1; Red Lion 1, Marston BL 2; Yarnton BL 2, East Oxford Con Club 1; White Hart Wytham 2, Democrats Club 1.

Top doll scorers: 16 – K Giles (Gladiators A). 14 – M Revill (Swan B). 13 – C Jenkins (Gladiators A), M Poulter (Red Lion A Yarnton), R Grant (Woodman), G Coulthard, W Waite (both Bullnose Morris A), L McAlister (Prince of Wales).

Sixers: K Giles, C Jenkins (both Gladiators A), M Revill (Swan B), G Coulthard, W Waite (both Bullnose Morris A), D Bowler (Littlemore BL A), J Dunne (Cowley Workers), C Webb (Gladiators B), J Tooke (Catherine Wheel B).

Blobbers: J Perks (Vikings Sports D), J Califano (Littlemore BL B), S Trotter (Donnington Club B), M Sinnott (Northway Club B), H Morgan, D Rees (both White Hart Wolvercote), P Smith (Kidlington FC B), K Bratton, J Hardiman (both East Oxford Con Club).


(Sponsored by Lodge Garage Mazda, Kingswood)

Premier & Div 1: Pheasant Inn 2, Black Bull B 1; Nut Tree 0, White Lion 3; Black Bull A 3, Crown A 0.

Div 2: Red Cow 0, Bull Inn A 3; White Horse 1, Brill SSC B 2; Muddy Duck 1, The Lion 2; Prince of Wales 0, Bell Bicester 3.

Div 3: Bull & Butcher B 1, Chearsley Cricketers 2; Chandos Arms 3, Butchers Arms 0; Brill S&SC A 1, Barley Mow 2; Shakespeare 2, Ashton Club 1.

Div 4: White Hart 3, The Harrison 0; Crown Twyford 2, Red Lion Finmere 1; Plough A 1, Hundred Acres 2; Bull Inn B 0, Fox 3.

Div 5: Crown B 3, Blacks Head 0; Safari Garden 2, Plough Casuals 1; Fountain 3, Black Bull Divas 0; Eight Bells 0, Bull & Butcher A 3.