JON Townsend was in exceptional form to help Swan A whitewash Gladiators A to open up a five-point lead in the Premier Section, writes ANDY BEAL.

Townsend was the week’s leading scorer in the Oxford & District League, whipping off 15 dolls

(5-5-5) in the 27-24, 29-24, 29-23 success over their nearest rivals.

Basement side George A had a morale-boosting 2-1 win at home to Black Prince, whose slim title hopes vanished as a result.

The hosts took the first two legs 26-21, 28-21, before Prince responded 31-27.

New Club A tightened their grip on Section 1 with a 2-1 victory at second-placed Garsington Sports Club.

The hosts took the opening leg 21-20 and looked on course to take the next. With New Club setting 14, their opponents needed just six from their last three players, but two blobs and a four saw them fall short.

A six from Barry Ruffels in the final leg helped Garsington set 22, but New Club snuck past by the odd doll to get one hand on the title.

Donnington C kept the chasing pack at bay in Section 2 after coming from behind to win 2-1 at rivals Six Bells E.

After the opening two legs were shared, Six Bells set 19 in the decider, which proved too low.

Phil Smith hit a baker’s dozen (5-4-4) for Tiddington Cricket Club in their 2-1 win at Donnington A.

The cricketers, who won the opener 25-18 before being pegged back 26-22, clinched victory on three sticks after the final leg was tied 23-23.

John Allnutt hit his third six of the season to ensure Gladiators B are still the team to beat in Section 3.

The leaders took maximum points after throwing three sets of 20, which proved enough to beat visitors Seacourt Bridge, who registered 19, 14 and 17.

Remarkably, all three legs finished tied in the clash between Littlemore British Legion A and Rose Hill Club.

The Legion had the edge on the three-stick shoot-outs, coming out 2-1 up.

Six Bells A Kidlington are still in the hunt for the title after a tight 2-1 win over close rivals Queens Head.

Bells won the first two legs

19-17, 23-21 but they could not finish the whitewash as Queens Head set an impressive 28.

Rory Mangan (4-5-4) for Queens Head and Ady Cross (5-4-4) from Six Bells both clanged off 13 dolls.

Cowley Workers’ Section 4 title ambitions continue to stall after a second successive 3-0 defeat.

A five from anchor man Eamon Hanlon tied the first leg 17-17.

But Vikings won it on three sticks, before claiming the next two 19-14, 20-18.

Cricketers Arms Cowley opened up a five-point gap at the top of Section 5 when they defeated Vikings Sports D 3-0.

Cricketers won the opening leg 18-17, but had no trouble in the next two legs, winning them

15-9, 14-7.

Doug Mingham top-scored with a dozen dolls (5-3-4) for the Cricketers.



Premier/Section 1: George A 2, Black Prince 1; Red Lion A 1, Swan B 2; Garsington Sports 1, New Club A 2; Swan A 3, Gladiators A 0; Woodman 3, Chequers A 0.

Section 2: Gladiators C 2, Bullnose Morris A 1; Six Bells E 1, Donnington Club C 2; Red Lion A Kidlington 2, Red Lion A Marston 1; Donnington Club A 1, Tiddington Cricket Club 2.

Section 3: Queens Head 1, Six Bells A 2; Gladiators B 3, Seacourt Bridge 0; Littlemore BL A 2, Rose Hill 1; New Club B 3, George B 0; Six Bells B 2, Masons Arms A 1.

Section 4: Catherine Wheel B 2, Vikings Sports B 1; Northway Club C 2, Swan C 1; Vikings Sports A 3, Cowley Workers Club 0; Bullnose Morris B 1, Red Lion B 2; Green Road Club A 2, Blackbird 1.

Section 5: Cricketers Arms Cowley 3, Vikings Sports D 0; Red Lion B 3, Littlemore BL B 0; Cricketers Arms Littleworth 2, Tandem 1; Masons Arms B 3, Ampleforth Arms B 0.

Section 6: Chequers B 3, Prince of Wales 0; Duke of Monmouth 3, Green Road Club B 0; White Horse 1, Kidlington FC A 2; Bletchingdon Sports 2, Catherine Wheel A 1.

Section 7: Headington Con Club 3, East Oxford Con Club 0; Kidlington FC B 2, White Hart Wolvercote 1; Yarnton BL 1, Northway Club B 2; Democrats Club 1, Marston BL 2.

Top doll scorers: 15 – J Townsend (Swan A). 13 – T Stuart (Swan A), B Ruffels (Garsington Sports Club), R Mangan (Queens Head), A Cross (Six Bells A), A Baker (Donnington Club A), P Smith (Tiddington Cricket Club).

Sixers: B Ruffels (Garsington Sports Club), L Hazell (Six Bells E), R Poore (Queens Head), M Revill (Swan B), N Baukham (Vikings Sports C), J Allnutt (Gladiators B).

Blobbers: E Hopkins (Littlemore BL B), A Varney (Northway Club B).