CUMNOR are mounting a late title challenge after beating Didcot by 83 runs to knock them off the top of the Cherwell League Division 1 table.

Didcot inserted their hosts, who were dismissed for 186, James Lee hitting 47 and Tom Powell 46, Nathan Patrick claiming 5-43.

But the visitors slumped to 103 all out as spin duo Alex Davies (5-43) and Max Mannering (4-16) ran through the card, only Richard Cook (31) getting going.

Westbury lost by one wicket against new leaders Great Brickhill.

Brennan Gough (83) helped Westbury post 246 all out.

Olly Tice (3-22) and Charlie Tredwell (3-46) took three wickets apiece, but Mark Nelson (61) and Arjun Jhala (50no) guided Brickhill to 250-9.

Neil Smith’s six-wicket haul proved in vain as Tiddington fell to a 39-run defeat at home to Twyford.

The visitors were dismissed for 150 as Smith (6-30) starred.

But Tiddington fell for 111 as Mohammed Fayyaz claimed 3-7.

Struggling Shipton-under-Wychwood went bottom as they lost by 98 runs at home to Long Marston.

The visitors, led by Ewan Crawley, who hit 101, posted 242-5.

Charlie Miller hit 51 and Calum Taylor 45, but Shipton were bowled out for 144.

Abingdon Vale lost by eight wickets at home to Buckingham Town 2nd.

Greg Liebenberg took 4-31 as Vale were shot out for 118, before Alex O’Dell (46) and Matthew Thatcher (42) saw Buckingham to 119-2.

Archie Spittles’s spectacular century was not enough for struggling Minster Lovell, as Aston Rowant 2nd clung on for a draw in Division 2.

Spittles smashed 112 from 106 balls and Wes Spearman 60 as Minster racked up


Rowant slumped to 115-8 as Eddie Dunn took 4-31, but Minster could not prise out Rowant’s final two wickets.

Banbury 2nd went back to the top with a four-wicket win at Bicester & North Oxford.

George Tait (4-31) and Richard Simpson (4-40) helped dismiss Bicester for 156, before Banbury reached 159-6 to seal victory.

Cropredy beat Leighton Buzzard Town by three wickets at home.

Restricting their visitors to 166-8, Cropredy reached 168-7 as James Coleman hit 41 not out.

Connor Jones (5-24) and Luke Stevens (4-11) starred as Challow & Childrey beat hosts Wolverton by 79


Challow set 172-8, Justin Penrose hitting 47 not out and Stevens 47, before

Wolverton slumped to 93 all out.

Elsewhere, Horspath 2nd clung on for a draw after conceding 305-3 dec at home to Bledlow Village.

Horspath made no effort at chasing the mammoth total, closing their innings on


Hamzah Ahmed took a hat-trick in figures of 4-11 as East Oxford beat Division 3 leaders Oxford Downs 2nd by three wickets.

Downs were dismissed for 130, Reyhan Rehman also taking 4-31.

Rehman then hit 55 to lead East Oxford to 131-7.

Chris Thompson’s 109 not out led Sandford St Martin to a four-wicket win at Great Brickhill 2nd.

Brickhill set 202-7, before Thompson and Tom Goffe (44no) led Sandford to 205-6.

Oxford 2nd stayed in third with a seven-run win at Banbury 3rd.

The visitors set 177 all out, Dylan Swanepoel hitting 50 and Ian Bryan taking 5-49.

Adan Ahmed scored 60 in Banbury’s reply, but they were bowled out for 170 as Joe Porter claimed 5-39.

Afran Ahmed’s haul of 7-31 helped Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts to a 34-run victory at Horley.

Nondies had been dismissed for 114 as Dan Bartlett took 6-61, but Ahmed starred as Horley crashed to 80 all out.

Thame Town 2nd lost by six wickets at home to Stokenchurch.

Witney Mills marched on at the top of Division 4 with a 99-run win over Bletchley Town.

They posted 185-8, Liam Hare top-scoring with 35.

Pierre Lefort then took 3-8 and Steve Kelly 3-11 as Bletchley slumped to 86 all out.

Great & Little Tew hammered Charlbury by nine wickets.

Charlbury were shot out for 129, Marc Canham taking 5-19.

Justin Parker (71no) and Sam Barnes (55no) led Tew to 133-1.

Horspath 3rd went down by six wickets at Brackley, while Abingdon Vale succumbed to Peter Toovey’s 7-33 as they lost by eight wickets at Long Marston 2nd.

Tiddington 2nd lost by 105 runs away to Kimble.

Minster Lovell 2nd’s Ben Spencer came agonisingly close to taking all ten wickets in his side’s one-wicket defeat against East Oxford 2nd in Division 7.

Minster had been skittled out for 105, before Spencer (9-51) took all nine East Oxford wickets that fell as they edged home at 109-9.

In Division 5, Didcot 2nd saw off Cumnor 2nd by 65 runs.

They were bowled out for 139, Chris De Verteuil taking 5-36.

But Andy Griffiths claimed 5-15 as Cumnor were dismissed for just 74.

Zak Jarvis’s unbeaten 101 was not enough for Shipton 2nd as they were held to a draw at Leighton Buzzard 2nd.

In Division 6, Sam Hollingshead claimed 7-22 to help Eynsham to a crushing 174-run victory over Oxford 3rd.

Earlier, Ben Smitten hit 63 in Eynsham’s 233-9, Joseph Oates taking 5-38.

But Hollingshead’s haul sent Oxford tumbling to 59 all out.

Division 9 leaders Tiddington 3rd declared too early and were beaten by Eynsham 2nd.

The hosts pulled out at 207-3, Nathan Dales hitting 60.

This gave Eynsham an extra over, although they did not need it at Patrick Arnold (83no) steered them to 208-7.