A SINGLES whitewash saw Cricketers Arms stun Kidlington Green Social Club in the ladies’ Premier Section of the Cowley Workers ODDA League.

Lyn Bayliss, Charlie Dodson, Emily Baldwin, Lorraine Singleton, Emma Elliott and Debbie Stevens all won.

The leaders salvaged something by winning the pairs matches, but still lost 6-3.

Cowley Workers A maintained their unbeaten record in men’s Section 2 with a 6-3 success against visitors Catherine Wheel.

Skipper Phil Cook got the hosts off to a strong start, despite two 180s from Sean Ashburner.

Butch Bowers and Otis Williams struck for Catherine Wheel, but the Workers seized the initiative with Michael Slatter and Darren Allen to finish the singles 4-2 ahead.

A 2-1 pairs victory kept the runaway leaders on track with a tenth successive triumph.

Cricketers Arms B remain rooted to the bottom following a 6-3 defeat to Red Lion Kidlington.

The strugglers took an early lead as John Kearney and Karl Smith came out on top.

But the Lions hit back through Neal Lowe, Mark Aust, George Baker and Tony Wheeler.

And a 2-1 pairs success sealed a comfortable victory.

WE are sorry to report that Joan Baxendale, who helped husband Jim compile the ODDA reports for decades, died on Saturday.

Funeral details to follow.




Premier & Section 1: Challow RBL 6, Red Lion 3; Kidlington Green SC 0, TJ’s A 9; Waggon & Horses 5, Croft Bar 4.

Section 2: Chequers Inn 3, Kidlington FC 6; Challow CC 7, Queens Head A 2; Cowley Workers A 6, Catherine Wheel 3; Red Lion 6, Cricketers Arms B 3.

Section 3: Bullnose Morris 6, Cowley Workers B 3; Duke of Monmouth 3, George Bar B 6.

Section 4: Donnington CC, 6 Masons Arms 3; Kings Arms 5, New Club 4; Queens Head 6, Littlemore RFC 3.

Section 5: Cowley Workers C 8, Ampleforth Arms 1; Florence Park CC 5, Butchers Arms 4; Prince of Wales 3, Marston RBL 6; Rose Hill CC 4, George Lounge 5.


Premier & Section 1: Cricketers Arms 6, Kidlington Green 3; Florence Park CC 4, TJ's A 5; Red Lion 6, Witney Snooker Club 3.

Section 2: Donnington CC B 5, Chequers Inn 4; Northway CC 3, Blackbird Leys BC 6.

Section 4: Original Swan B 7, East Oxford CC 2; Kings Arms 6, Cowley Workers C 3.

Section 5: Cowley Workers A 4, New Club 5; Red Lion 6, Kidlington FC A 3.


S Ashburner 2 (Catherine Wheel). A Stevens, S Smith (both TJ’s A), D Allen, K Coleman (Cowley Workers A), S James (Cricketers Arms B), S Davidson (Challow CC), D Wyatt, M Keary (both Challow RBL), M Bray (Queens Head A), R Revelley, M Kennett (both Chequers Inn), M Stocker (Kidlington FC), C Sutherland (Ampleforth Arms), G Mills (Waggon & Horses), M Laverack, S Wilkes (both Croft Bar).


M Smith 132 & 126, P Jones 116 (all Challow RBL), M Bray 115 (Queens Head A), R Smith 113 (Kidlington FC), J Crawford 110 (Littlemore RFC), M Davis 110 (Croft Bar), D Turner 107 (Littlemore RFC), R Drew 106 (Waggon & Horses), J Ewins 106 (Ampleforth Arms), K Lockyer 102 (Florence Park CC), K Coleman 100 (Cowley Workers A).