OXFORD University Whippets brushed aside Oxford 52-7 to win the Oxfordshire Shield at Iffley Road.

The students proved far too strong, running in seven tries to win the competition for the second time in three years.

Reuben Green, Euan Friend, Josh Southworth, Eddie Gillow, David Wilkinson, Henry Hackett and Nick Etherington crossed for Whippets.

Wilkinson converted all seven of the tries and kicked a penalty.

Oxford only trailed 17-7 at the break, Ben Harden converting Jack Sullivan-Webb’s try, but the floodgates opened in the second half.