OXFORDSHIRE suffered a 21-15 defeat by Sussex in their opening BDO Inter-Counties Championship fixture at Worthing.

All the damage was done on the first day of the Division 1 match as both Oxon’s B teams lost.

After the ladies A teams drew, Oxon still trailed by six points going into the men’s A match.

Lee Russell came out on top 4-3, but Sussex bounced back again until Ade Larner triumphed.

Tom Baughan and Jon Jukes secured victories, but even before Geordie Grant and Pete Smith’s late successes, Sussex had already sealed the points.

  • CROFT Bar and TJ’s Club B are still locked together at the top of the Cowley Workers ODDA Summer League after securing 6-3 wins over Prince of Wales A and Challow RBL respectively in their Premier Section matches.

TJs B won by the same margin at Challow RBL B thanks to Geordie Grant, Aaran Stevens, Michael Oliver and Jon Jukes (180).




Premier & Section 1: Bell Inn 3, Bicester Ex-Services Club 6; Croft Bar 6, Prince of Wales A 3; Challow RBL 3, TJ’s Club B 6.

Section 2: Cricketers Arms A 4, TJs Club A 5; Black Bull 4, Cricketers Arms B 5.

Section 3: George Lounge A 4, Blackbird Bar 5.

Section 4: George Bar B 4, Marston RBL A 5; Duke of Monmouth 7, Florence Park CC A 2.

Section 5: Prince of Wales B 3, New Club 6; Six Bells 3, Donnington CC B 6; Cowley Workers Club 3, Littlemore Rugby Club A 6.

Section 6: Butchers Arms 8, Rose Hill CC 1; East Oxford CC 4, Donnington CC A 5; Florence of Wales B 6, Kings & Queens 3.


Premier & Section 1: Donnington B 1, Witney SC 8.

Section 2: Rose Hill CC 5, Red Lion 4; Ampleforth Arms B 3, Bletchingdon SC 6; Cowley Workers Club C 4, Northway CC 5.

Section 3: Cowley Workers Club D 3, Donnington CC A 6; Catherine Wheel 5, Gladiators Club 4; George Lounge B 4, Chequers Inn B 5.

Section 4: Florence Park CC C 6, New Club B 3; Masons Arms 6, Cowley Workers Club A 3; Original Swan 7, Kings Arms 2.

Section 5: Chequers Inn A 7, Cowley Workers Club B 2; New Club 6, George Bar.3.


D Wyatt (Challow RBL) 2, D Kirton (Bicester Ex-Services Club), S Key (Bell Inn), J Jukes (TJ’s Club B), T Wood (TJ’s Club B), S Smith (Croft Bar), M Laverack (Croft Bar), M Kennett (Prince of Wales A), A Haslam (TJ’s Club A), S Payne (Cricketers Arms A).


P Bustin (TJ’s Club A) 142, W Banks (George Bar B) 136, J Palmer (Bicester Ex Services Club) 128, B Grant (Challow RBL) 116), K Juggins (Six Bells) 116, C Myers (Cricketers Arms A ) 114, J Kearney (Cricketers Arms B) 112, MG Hutt (Marston RBL A) 102, S Smith (Croft Bar) 100, J Oram (Cricketers Arms B) 100.