DEMOCRATS Club were crowned Section 1 champions for the second year in a row when recording a 6-3 victory at Premier side TJ’s Club B in the Cowley Workers ODDA.

After winning the pairs 2-1, victories for Mark Bayliss, Ashley Presley (180) and Adam Bowman saw the visitors open up a 5-1 lead.

The hosts reduced the deficit, thanks to George Grant (180) and Terry Wood, before Rob Adnams sealed Democrats’ success by beating Jon Jukes.

Kidlington Football Club need one point from their final game to secure the Section 2 title, despite suffering a 5-4 defeat at home to TJ’s Club A – their first loss of the season.

Steve Baker put the hosts in front, before Andy Haslam and Paul Bustin made it 2-1 to the visitors.

Pete Smith levelled for Kidlington, only for Steve Willoughby to restore TJ’s advantage.

Rob Smith made it 3-3 for the hosts, before the visitors took the pairs 2-1 to clinch victory.

Section 3 title challengers Cricketers Arms C made it ten wins in a row when coming away from George Lounge A with a 6-3 victory.

The visitors led 4-2, thanks to Dale Jacobs, Eddie Smith, Butch Bowers and Sean Ashburner.

Keith Ballards and Dan Jones had triumphed for George, before the visitors won the pairs 2-1.

The battle for the Section 5 title will go to the final week, with just two points separating the top four teams.

Leaders Six Bells lost 5-4 at New Club, while second-placed Cowley Workers Club recorded an 8-1 win over George Lounge B.

Donnington Community Centre B stayed in contention after a 5-4 win at Prince of Wales B.

Section 6 leaders Florence Park Community Centre B defeated lowly Rose Hill Community Centre 6-3.

Peter Ayres, who hit a 138 check-out, starred in their victory.

Chris Fox and Pat Palmer also put the hosts in control, but their lead was soon cut to 3-2 after victories for Dean Surman and John Elderkin.

Tony Knight’s win and a 2-1 pairs success saw Florence over the line.

Red Lion have been knocked off the top spot in Section 2 of the ladies’ competition following a 6-3 defeat at Cowley Workers C.

Kay Youngs, Kat Padfield, Lisa Wallace, Michelle Youngs and a 2-1 pairs success completed their win.

Ale Bateman and Caroline Calcutt triumphed for Red Lion.




Premier & Section 1: Bell Inn 7, Prince of Wales 2; TJ’s Club B 3, Democrats Club B 6.

Section 2: Kidlington Football Club 4, TJ’s Club A 5; Queens Head 5, Cricketers Arms B 4; Black Bull 5, George Bar A 4.

Section 3: George Lounge A 3, Cricketers Arms C 6; Donnington CC C 5, Bullnose Morris 4; Littlemore Rugby Club B 3, Blackbird Bar 6.

Section 4: Masons Arms 4, Florence Park CC A 5; George Bar 4, Gladiators Club 5.

Section 5: Six Bells 4, New Club 5; Cowley Workers Club 8, George Lounge B 1; Prince of Wales B 4; Donnington CC B 5.

Section 6: Butchers Arms 6, King & Queen 3; Florence Park CC 6, Rose Hill CC 3.


Premier & Section 1: TJ’s Club A 4, Witney Snooker Club 5; Donnington CC B 3, Florence Park CC A 6; Florence Park CC B 3, Ampleforth Arms A 6.

Section 2: Cowley Workers Club C 6, Red Lion 3.

Section 3: Catherine Wheel 5, Six Bells 4; Cowley Workers Club B 4, Chequers Inn B 5.

Section 4: Florence Park CC C 3, Kings Arms 6; Original Swan 3, New Club 6.

Section 5: Kidlington Football Club A 4, Golden Ball 5; New Club B 3, Cowley Workers Club B 6.


C Thompson (TJ’s Club A), G Grant (TJ’s Club B), A Presley (Democrats Club), A Hunter (Cricketers Arms B), R Spiers (Queens Head), S Coling (TJ’s Club A), P Smith (Kidlington Football Club), T Wetherall (George Bar A), R Carter (Bell Inn), M Kennett (Prince of Wales A), M Hastie, T Shayler (both Prince of Wales B).


P Ayres (Florence Park CC B) 138, D Jones (George Lounge A) 117, T Wood (TJ’s Club B) 113, B Minns (New Club) 106, G Britnell (Witney Snooker Club) 103, A Bowman (Democrats Club) 100.