CHARLBURY bade farewell to the OCA League as they collected the Division 1 trophy from Yorkshire and former Oxfordshire star Jack Brooks at their awards ceremony at the Kassam Stadium.

Almost 150 guests were entertained by the ex-Tiddington ace, who conducted a question-and-answer session before handing out the trophies.

Charlbury, who won the Division 1 title, will now depart to the Cherwell League for the 2018 season, although they will retain their third team in the OCA.

The Division 2 trophy was collected by Wootton & Boars Hill’s Billy Webb, who also picked up the Tony Pullinger T20 Trophy.

And Stanton Harcourt skipper Joel Graham received the Division 3 trophy.

Charlbury’s Ian Johnston won the Boyd-Maunsell Trophy as the leading bowler in 2017, while the Hawthorn award for batting went to Dorchester’s Chris Rudling.

Middleton Cheney’s 17-year-old Sam Hanson won both the under 19 bowling award and the George Panting young-player-of the-season prize.

Conor Graney (Dorchester) lifted the Under 19 batsman of the year accolade.


Div 1: Charlbury. Div 2: Wootton & Boars Hill. Div 3: Stanton Harcourt. Div 4: Brill. Div 5: Hook Norton. Div 6: Shrivenham. Div 7: Yarnton & Cowley 2nd. Div 8 North: Risinghurst 2nd. Div 8 South: Dorchester 2nd.

Airey Cup: Faringdon. Telegraph Cup: Risinghurst. Steve Dixon Cup: Combe. Osberton Radiators Cup: Eynsham. Tony Pullinger T20 Cup: Wootton & BH. Hawthorn Award for batting: C Rudling (Dorchester). Boyd-Maunsell bowling award: I Johnston (Charlbury). Young batsman: C Graney (Dorchester). Young bowler: S Hanson (Middleton Cheney). George Panting young player: S Hanson. Morris Honey most improved ground: Chesterton. Hawthorn award for sportsmanship: Stanton Harcourt.