TIDDINGTON were left heartbroken after a seven-wicket defeat ended their title hopes at Abingdon Vale.

The visitors needed just eight points to wrap up the top-flight crown, but Vale produced an outstanding performance to leave them with only five, and having to settle for the runners-up spot.

Dinton took full advantage to record an eight-wicket win at already-relegated Aston Rowant 2nd to spark their celebrations.

Tiddington chose to bat first at Hales Meadow, but they were soon to find that the home side were not in a charitable mood.

Peter King was bowled for one, before young Charlie Elliott followed for ten, Graham Charlesworth claiming both.

And the wickets kept on tumb- ling against an on-song Abingdon attack.

Chris Goodman was bowled by Joe Butcher for 14 and captain Wil Goodman fell to Henry Pickford for 11.

Nick Pykett steadied the ship for the visitors with a defiant 58 not out from 83 balls, his knock containing five fours and a six.

Tiddington were struggling on 92-6 when Patrick Knightley was bowled by captain Jonathan Jenkinson for 22, and although Pykett marshalled the tail well, getting his side up to 154 all out, in truth, it looked a below-par total.

Jenkinson finished the pick of the Vale attack with 3-35, while Butcher, Charlesworth and Pickford claimed two wickets apiece.

Tiddington took to the field knowing that six wickets would give them the title – and fully aware Abingdon’s batting line-up had struggled to find consistency in their first season in the top flight.

Amith Premkumar was the first to fall, run out by a smart piece of fielding from youngster Max Smith.

Will Barker was caught by King off the bowling of Neil Smith and was quickly followed by Luke Maslen, who was caught and bowled by Ben Smith for a duck.

With Vale on 66-3, Tiddington remained favourites to secure the title.

But for all their toil, they could not pick up any further wickets.

Jeismhan Diwakar (52no) and Sam Chilvers (44no) led Vale to victory at 155-3 and secure an excellent win and leaving Tiddington agonisingly short.

  •  Abingdon Vale 25pts, Tiddington 5

Dinton took full advantage of Rowant’s slip to take the title after a one-sided win at Aston Rowant 2nd.

They leapfrogged Tiddington to win the league by just three points.

Rowant opted to bat first, but were quickly shot out for 97 as Ryan Chapman took 3-3 and Waqar Mohammed 3-50, Chris Eaton hitting 43.

Dinton raced to victory in just 11.1 overs, Brennan Gough hitting 42 and Mark Ludlow 42.

  • Aston Rowant 2nd 2pts, Dinton 25

Twyford saw off hosts Horspath 2nd by four wickets.

Basement boys Horspath posted a useful total of 215 all out in 48 overs, Dom O’Connor top-scoring with 65 and Jehan Mohammed making 49.

But Twyford were in a hurry to reach the target, needing only 34-1 overs to wrap up victory as Shabaz Alam struck 88.

  • Horspath 2nd 10pts, Twyford 25

Oxford Downs finished their campaign on a high with a two-wicket win at home to Banbury 2nd.

Johnny Law took 5-71 to help to dismiss Banbury for 178 in the 37th over, giving Downs 63 overs to chase down the target.

And the Standlake-based club crept over the winning line with an over left at 181-1, Amin Rafiq scoring 42.

  • Oxford Downs 25pts, Banbury 2nd 11

Cumnor fell to a 57-run defeat at Long Marston.

The home side set 250-8 in their 53 overs, before Cumnor were all out for 193, despite an excellent 81 from Max Mannering, Sam Bastin taking 5-38.

  • Long Marston 25pts, Cumnor 7