Two former Woodstock Harriers stole the show in the third round of the Mota-Vation Series at Combe.

Steve Naylor, competing for Bedford & County, was racing for the first time in a year and scooped the men’s prize, with Sophie Carter (Belgrave Harriers) winning the ladies’ race.

Naylor showed no signs of rustiness, dominating from the off to win by 50 seconds in a time of 19mins 51secs.

He was a huge ten seconds clear after only a third of a mile and extended his advantage throughout the race, with just seven seconds separating the next four runners, with Les Newell (Oxford City) second.

Julian Richardson (Oxford City) was fourth and won the V40 title, while Andy Phelps (Headington) took the V50 division.

The Oxford City trio of Richard Grant, Roy Treadwell and Stewart Thorp swept the V60 division, with Nigel Lambert (Alchester) the first V70 man home.

Carter (Belgrave Harriers) won the ladies race – and the VL35 division – in 22.43, ahead of Headington’s Diane Moore.

Allison Hirst won the VL45 division and Gwyneth Hueter (Oxford City) the VL55 division, just ahead of Kate Williamson (Eynsham), who was the first VL65 to finish.

The next race is at Combe on August 6 (7.30).

RESULTS (senior men unless stated) 1 S Naylor (Bed) 19mins 51secs, 2 L Newell (Oxf) 20.41, 3 K White (Wim) 20.43, 4 J Richardson (Oxf, V40) 20.47, 5 T Jones (Wit) 20.48, 6 T Wright (Ban) 20.57, 7 J Bolton (Wds, V40) 20.59, 8 P Jegou (Whh, V40) 21.20, 9 G Harris (Hed, V40) 21.26, 10 O Stepney (Abn) 21.36, 11 J Davis (Ayl) 21.48, 12 D Blake (Wit) 22.02, 13 A Vessey (Abn) 22.03, 14 R Taylor (Ban, V40) 22.06, 15 R Meredith (Oxf) 22.13, 16 M Summerfield (Ayl, V40) 22.16, 17 A Stickley (Alc) 22.19, 18 R Gould (Alc, V40) 22.23, 19 M Robinson (Oxf) 22.29, 20 J Pither (Alc) 22.34, 21 J Atyeo (Oxf, V40) 22.35, 22 S Carter (Bel, VL35) 22.43, 23 C Williams (Eyn) 22.50, 24 D Peabody (Che) 22.54, 25 G Ramsay (Cam) 23.01, 26 A Phelps (Hed, V50) 23.05, 27 C Richardson (Ayl, U19) 23.08, 28 S O’Gorman (Alc, V40) 23.10, 29 D Moore (Hed, VL35) 23.16, 30 A Byerley (Ayl, V40) 23.17.

Gareth Petts stormed to victory in the Swansea Marathon.

The Witney Road Runner recorded a time of 2hrs 40mins 52secs.

Oxford City won the 26th Ridgeway Relay, narrowly missing a course record.

The 89-mile event covers the entire length of the Ridgeway from Ivinghoe Beacon to Marlbrough.

City, looking to improve on last year’s fourth place, started strongly and were in third place following the legs of John Atyeo, Maxwell Robinson and Mark Tyrrell.

Gemma Bridge closed the gap, but Oxford remained third when handing over to Aaron Simpson for leg five.

Next up were the strong pair of David Bruce and Julian Richardson, and their efforts saw City build a twominute lead over Newbury.

Their last three runners of Melissa Hawtin, Callum Bampton and Les Newell brought the team home in front, some nine-and-a-half hours after the start, and less than a minute outside the course record.