Tiddington captain Matt Maule has set his sights on a Division 1 title challenge.

The club finished third last year, and are boosted by the return of Queensland all-rounder Tom Rowley for his second season on the back of a great finish down under to his first grade campaign.

Maule said: “After the second half of last season confidence is high and we will be looking to build on last season’s third-place finish, with one eye on that league title.”

Tiddington are also looking for county youth players Max Smith and Ben Smith to play their part.


Batsman Matt Lake, who has taken over as Cumnor captain from John Williams, can look forward to having former Oxfordshire all-rounder Adam Cook available after a year out due to work.

Oxford seamer Matt Carslake has joined along with Michael Race, a batsman from Backworth in the Northumberland and Tyneside Senior League.

All-rounder Sam Jones has moved on to Shipton-under-Wychwood.

Cumnor will also be looking to promote the likes of James Fitzjohn, Max Mannering, Callum Russell and Harry Ackland, who helped the club be crowned Oxfordshire Under 17 champions and formed the backbone of the title-winning county side at that age group last year.

Mike Higgs takes over from Sam Lachlan as captain at Thame Town, who will be looking to step up from their disappointing campaign last term when they finished second-bottom. Batsman Honey Garg has joined from Bolton League club Walden, while county seamer Will Rooney has moved to Oxford.

Opening bowler Jarryd McPhee, from Western Australia, replaces New Zealander James Crichton as the club’s overseas player.

Stafford Sansome will captain a young Twyford side for their third consecutive season in the top flight.

He will have Jack Deal as his vice-captain following his return from Tring Park.

Dorset Academy wicket-keeper Nick Evans has joined along with Stowe School captain George Jackman.

Oxford 2nd, with Philip Evans as skipper, have recruited batsman Akheam Fox, who returns after a season away, all-rounders Suileman Hussain and Mursaleen Sadiqi (both East Oxford) and Aaron Huish (Tetsworth).

They will be without James Ladd Gibbon (Teddington), Sam Chilvers (work), Joe Claassen (emigrated to Australia), Jed Dickson (returned to Australia) and Tim Sutton (work).

All-rounder Charlie Hill, 21, takes over as Banbury 2nd captain from Andrew Sabin, who will be vice-captain.

The squad is bolstered by the arrival of Hook Norton left-handed batsman Tom Bartlett, who has already made 152no and 105no in pre-season, Horley seamer Alex Shortt and all-rounder Stuart Murray, who has moved to the area.

Great Brickhill have strengthened their squad as they seek to make their presence felt at the top.

Former Northants all-rounder Mark Nelson has joined after playing for Papplewick and Linby in Nottingham, together with all-rounder Lawrence Armstrong from Liverpool club Formby, off-spinner John Iqbal (MK City) and Richard Winchester from Wheathampstead in the Herts League.

Pete Hastings has retired, while wicket-keeper/batsman Michael Baker isn’t playing this season due to other commitments.

Leighton Buzzard will be looking to the squad which won Division 2 under captain Phill Whatmore last season to build on that success as they return to the top flight.

Wolverton Town, last season’s runners-up, and Long Marston, who were promoted from Division 2, complete the line-up.