Headington B finished with a flourish to triumph on Summertown Trophy finals day at Banbury Chestnuts.

The side of Ian Snowden, Shaun Claridge, Paul Mabbutt, Dean May and John Philpott emerged winners with a record of +39 shots after playing each of the nine other teams over seven ends in the round-robin tournament.

West Witney finished runners-up and winners of the Astall Ley Trophy, while Carterton A held on to third.

West Witney had got off to a flying start in the event, formerly known as the Evenlode competition, by defeating last year’s winners, Banbury Borough, by nine shots.

But by lunchtime it was Headington B who were narrowly ahead with Headington A, Carterton A and West Witney still very much in contention.

In the afternoon it looked like the trophy would be heading to west Oxfordshire as, with just two games to go, West Witney had surged ahead to +33 shots, Carterton A were on +22, and Headington B on +20.

However, Thame were to have a big say in the final result as they first beat West Witney by five shots, before being hammered 17-0 by a resurgent Headington B, which proved pivotal in them claiming the title.