MOST people danced at the Carfax Assembly Rooms in Oxford, but Eamonn Woodley was different – he played cricket there!

The building, off Cornmarket Street, became a carpet centre when it closed as a dance hall and restaurant in 1968.

During their lunch hour, staff would bring out the stumps and batsmen and bowlers would swing into action.

Mr Woodley, a former pupil at New Marston Primary School in Copse Lane, who now lives near Princes Risborough, was reminded of the lunchtime games when he saw Dennis Fogden’s picture of well-dressed young men in the restaurant in the 1960s (Memory Lane, November 22).

He writes: “In 1969-70, I worked as a junior for the display department responsible for window dressing and shopfitting for the Oxford & Swindon Co-operative Society. My boss was a great man named David Barlow.

“The Oxford and Swindon branches had only recently amalgamated. The new organisation was headed by a Yorkshireman, Jim Richmond.

“I believe Mr Richmond had joined the Co-op as a junior and worked his way up to area manager.

“He was a no-nonsense man, absolutely without pretension, very kind and with a great sense of humour. After the Assembly Rooms closed for business, the building was due for demolition and had, for the most part, been cleared.

“The Co-op used the empty building as a carpet centre, in which massive stocks of broadloom carpets were stored.

“The centre was managed by a really amiable man named Mike Long. Mike had a great but wicked sense of humour.

“Being ‘The Boy’, I was often the butt of his and his team’s jokes. It was all in fun and I look back on very happy times.

“We had to go regularly to collect off-cuts and pieces of carpet for window/shop display and tidying up some of the older shops.

“I well remember going up and down the fantastic stairways carrying heavy rolls of floor covering.

“There were still posters on the stairway and in what had been the box office advertising the bands.