Top scientists and prize-winning writers are among those receiving honorary degrees from Oxford University tomorrow (21 June).

Encaenia, the university's annual honorary degree ceremony, will be held in the Sheldonian Theatre after a parade from Brasenose College.

Among those being honoured are Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Alison Lurie and Nobel prize-winning poet and playwright Derek Walcott.

The Doctor of Civil Law will be awarded to David Holmes, a Fellow of St John's College.

He was registrar of Oxford University from 1998 until April this year. Scientists being awarded accolades include Dame Nancy Rothwell, Professor of physiology at Manchester University, whose research has contributed toward major advances in brain injury treatment.