The candidates standing in the general election in the north Oxfordshire area have been announced.

The parliamentary constituencies in the area have changed following a boundary review, and electors in Cherwell will vote either in the Banbury constituency or in the Bicester and Woodstock constituency.

There are eight candidates standing in Banbury and six in Bicester and Woodstock, which were announced on the Cherwell District Council website on Friday, June 7. 

READ MORE: Oxford Pride 2024: Rainbow bus launched ahead of event

The candidates for Banbury are: Victoria Prentis (Conservatives), Sean Woodcock (Labour), Liz Adams (Liberal Democrats), Arron Baker (Green), Paul Topley (Reform UK), Cassi Bellingham (Independent), Chris Nevile (Climate Party) and Declan Soper (Social Democratic Party).

The candidates for Bicester are: Rupert Harrison (Conservatives), Veronica Oakeshott (Labour), Calum Miller (Liberal Democrats), Ian Middleton (Green), Augustine Obodo (Reform UK) and Tim Funnell (Social Democratic Party). 

People can check which seat they will vote for and see maps of the new Parliamentary boundaries by entering their postcode on the Parliament website.

Gordon Stewart, Returning Officer, said: “A general election gives residents the opportunity to have their say on who represents them at the national level.

"To be able to take part in the democratic process, you will need to make sure you are registered to vote.

READ MORE: David Cameron visits Oxfordshire on campaign trail

“If you have moved home since you last registered, have changed your name, or recently turned 18, then you will need to register to vote before midnight on 18 June.

"If you are already registered, you do not need to register again.”

Those voting at a polling station must show a valid form of photo ID, such as a passport, driving licence, or specific travel card. A full list of accepted IDs is on the  Electoral Commission website.