The crews for The Boat Race have been announced at a public event at Battersea Power Station.

The boat clubs of Oxford University and Cambridge University unveiled the 36 student rowers who will participate in the race, which is set to take place in Putney on March 30.

The Women’s Race will start at 2:46pm and the Men’s Race at 3:46pm.

For the first time, the crew announcement was a public event, attracting sports fans, families, shoppers and passers-by.

They joined VIP guests, including Olympians, Boat Race alumni, university boat club members and the crews’ loved ones inside the Power Station's Turbine Hall B.

The crews for both the Women's and Men's Race were unveiled.

Oxford Mail: The Women's Boat Race crews at Battersea Power StationThe Women's Boat Race crews at Battersea Power Station (Image: BRCL/Row360)

The Oxford Women’s crew features Sarah Marshall (bow), Ella Stadler (president), Tessa Haining, Claire Aitken, Julia Lindsay, Annie Sharp, Lucy Edmunds, Annie Anezakis (stroke), and Joe Gellett (cox).

For Cambridge Women's, the rowers are Gemma King (bow), Jo Matthews, Clare Hole, Jenna Armstrong (president), Carina Graf, Carys Earl, Iris Powell, Megan Lee (stroke), and Hannah Murphy (cox).

The Men's Race crews were then announced.

Oxford Mail: The Men's Boat Race crews at Battersea Power StationThe Men's Boat Race crews at Battersea Power Station (Image: BRCL/Row360)

Oxford Men's crew consists of Saxon Stacey (bow), Harry Glenister, Jelmer Bennema, James Doran, Elias Kun, Frederick Roper, Leonard Jenkins, Elliot Kemp (stroke), and William Denegri (cox).

The Cambridge Men's team features Sebastien Benzecry (bow and president), Noam Mouelle, Thomas Marsh, Augustus John, Kenneth Coplan, Thomas Lynch, Luca Ferraro, Matt Edge (stroke) and Ed Bracey (cox).

BBC Sport commentator Andrew Cotter engaged the rowers and their coaches in a Q&A.

Siobhan Cassidy, chair of The Boat Race Company, said: "The annual crew announcement is always an exciting moment in The Boat Race season and we were delighted to make it a public event for the first time at Battersea Power Station.

"It was great to see so many members of the public getting behind the selected crews and enjoying photo opportunities with the Boat Race trophies.

"We’re looking forward to welcoming them and thousands more along the Championship Course for the ultimate Party on the River in two weeks’ time.”

Cambridge University won both the men's and women’s races in 2023, leaving the overall records as 86-81 in the favour of Cambridge Men’s and 47-30 in the favour of Cambridge Women’s.

The 2024 Gemini Boat Race will start with the 78th Women’s Race followed by the 169th Men’s Race.

First raced in 1829, The Boat Race has become one of the world’s oldest amateur sporting events, annually drawing more than 250,000 spectators to the River Thames and millions of viewers worldwide.