A dozen more communities across Oxfordshire have had their applications to bring in 20mph limits approved by Oxfordshire County Council.

The schemes have now been approved for Lyneham, Upper Heyford, Tackley, Ramsden, Minster Lovell, Milton near Abingdon, Leafield North, Newington, Enstone, Caversfield, Ashbury and Finstock.

The council claims to have been inundated with requests for 20mph zones since it launched a scheme in February 2022.

READ MORE: Ball python snake 'Barry' found abandoned in Oxford park 

Parishes around the county had until the end of last month to submit their applications for 20mph zones in their respective areas, with town and parish councils expected to fund any traffic calming measures that may be required to support the new limit in their areas.

Councillor Andrew Gant, Oxfordshire County Council’s cabinet member for transport management, said: “There is a clear link between the speed of traffic and the likelihood of accidents happening in which people are killed or injured."