New 20mph speed limits will be introduced in six more communities after their bids were approved by the council.

Chinnor, Ipsden, Kidmore End, South Stoke, St Helen Without and Stanton St John will all be subject to the new restrictions.

The changes are part of a county-wide initiative by Oxfordshire County Council to change the default speed limit from 30mph to 20mph in areas where there is local support.

READ MORE: Man, 46, charged with 'drink driving' after vehicle stop

Residents and parish or town councils can apply for the speed limits in their areas to be changed.


The county council then assesses the area taking into account factors such as the number of people seriously injured or killed and the number of pedestrians crossing the roads.

The new 20mph restrictions are legally enforceable and town and parish councils have also been encouraged to set up community speed watch programmes.

Earlier this week, the lower limits came into force in Kidlington.

They were requested by the parish council and these were consulted on earlier in the year.