THE Green Party was the biggest winner in Oxford’s city council elections, gaining three seats with little in the way of shocks across the board.

With elections for all 24 wards in Oxford, and one councillor being elected for each ward, the Greens won three seats off other parties, and four on the night.

Labour meanwhile lost two seats, but still won the vote in 15 wards.

FULL LIST: All the local councillors elected in Oxford

Perhaps the biggest shock of the night was Green candidate Lois Muddiman taking Colin Cook’s Osney and St Thomas ward seat.

Mr Cook, a former Lord Mayor of Oxford, had been chair of both the council’s planning committee, and licensing and gambling acts committee.

Chris Jarvis, leader of the Green group in Oxford, foresaw the Greens taking seats, saying prior to the announcement of results: “I’m quietly optimistic that we’ll have more Green councillors than at the beginning of the day, we’re crossing all fingers.

“It doesn’t look like the national picture will impact things here, there’s many votes to be counted but the much-hyped Labour gains are not expected, not just here but across the country.”

The council’s leader, Susan Brown, kept her Churchill ward seat, and told the Oxford Mail after all the results had been announced: “It’s always pleasing to keep a seat, I’m incredibly grateful to the people of Churchill and it’s a badge I wear with great pride.

“We were defending three quarters of seats in the council, so we were in an incredibly high point to begin with.

“I think one of the big stories is the ones who talked a big talk about taking seats from us in particular – the Independents.

“But they actually went back a seat and lost to the Greens, they were the dog that didn’t bark.”

Oxford Mail: Oxford City Council leader, Susan Brown. Picture: Ed NixOxford City Council leader, Susan Brown. Picture: Ed Nix

The elections see Labour now have 32 seats (losing two); Liberal Democrats with nine seats (no change); Greens have six seats (a gain of three); and the Independents lost a seat to have just one.

Councillors elected will serve until May 2026.

The election itself saw a 39 per cent turnout, marginally down compared to 40 per cent for last year’s elections.

Labour’s Littlemore councillor, Tiago Corais, retained his seat.

He told the Oxford Mail: “I feel I did everything, I was a very effective councillor for Littlemore in the last year.”

LIVE UPDATES: Results underway for Oxford local elections 

The first result announced on the night was cabinet member Louise Upton retaining her Walton Manor ward seat, while fellow cabinet members Alex Hollingsworth, Ed Turner and Mike Rowley also retained their seats.

Lots of talk beforehand by the Independents was of a united front, primarily in their opposition to travel schemes, including low traffic neighbourhoods (LTNs).

Saj Malik, who led the united Independent front, held his Temple Cowley ward seat, and said earlier in the evening: “I’m positive and confident, you will see independent wards going up.

“We need to make a point to the all the political parties.”

Mr Malik also confirmed he would be aiming to put an Independent candidate in each ward for elections in two years’ time.

He told the Oxford Mail: “In 2024, we will field 24 candidates, and we will see what happens tonight.”

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tik Tok

Got a story for us? Send us your news and pictures here

List an event for free on our website here