MANY people from across Oxfordshire have been recognised on the Queen's Birthday Honours List 2021.

Twenty-six people from across the county were honoured, with most of the awards praising those who worked throughout the pandemic.

Awards range from those working on the Oxford Astra-Zeneca vaccine, to work in care homes and in literature.

  • Professor Sarah Catherine Gilbert. Saïd Professorship of Vaccinology, Jenner Institute and Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine. For services to Science and Public Health in Covid Vaccine Development. (Headington, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Peter William Horby. Professor, Emerging Infectious Diseases and Global Health, University of Oxford. For services to Medical Research. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Martin Jonathan Landray. Professor, Medicine and Epidemiology, Oxford University. For services to Public Health and Science. (Bampton, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Andrew John Pollard. Professor, Paediatric Infection and Immunity, University of Oxford. For services to Public Health, particularly during the Covid-19 Pandemic. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Keith Malcolm Willett CBE. National Director for Emergency Planning and Incident Response, NHS England and NHS Improvement. For services to the NHS. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Canon Professor Nigel John Biggar. Regius Professor of Moral and Pastoral Theology, Oxford University. For services to Higher Education. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Sally Ann Shuttleworth. Professor of English Literature, University of Oxford. For services to the Study of English Literature. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Ruth Anne Llewellin Todd. Director of Programmes, Vaccine Taskforce, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. For services to Vaccine Delivery. (Banbury, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Fiona Tomley. Professor of Experimental Parasitology, The Royal Veterinary College. For services to Animal Health. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • David John Almond. Children’s Author. For services to Literature. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Joanna Mary Dyson. Head of Food, FareShare. For services to charitable Food Provision during Covid-19. (Banbury, Oxfordshire)
  • Professor Christopher James Alfred Granville Fairburn. Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry, University of Oxford. For services to Psychological Treatments and the Treatment of Eating Disorders. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Dr Catherine Mary Green. Head, Clinical BioManufacturing Facility, Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford. For services to Science and Public Health. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Ian Donald Hudspeth. Lately Leader, Oxfordshire County Council and lately Chairman, Community Wellbeing Board, Local Government Association. For services to Local Government. (Woodstock, Oxfordshire)
  • Gareth Kirkwood. Managing Director of Roadside, The AA. For services to Road Transport during Covid-19. (Sonning Common, Oxfordshire)
  • Dr John Anderson McLean. Lately Head, Microelectronics Support Centre, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory. For services to Pan-European Microelectronics Design Tools Provision for Academia. (Wantage, Oxfordshire)
  • Graham John Brogden. For services to Flood Prevention and Resilience. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)
  • Annette England. Director, Biomax Scientific Consultancy Ltd. For services to the UK Bioprocessing Community and the Vaccine Taskforce. (Bicester, Oxfordshire)
  • Sheila Furlong. Chief Executive, The Archway Foundation. For services to Mental Health. (Abingdon, Oxfordshire)
  • Squadron Leader Kenneth Horn. Operational Meteorologist, Met Office. For services to Operational Meteorology. (Wheatley, Oxfordshire)
  • Kathryn Mary Winrow. Chair, Oxford Diocesan Schools Trust, and lately Headteacher, Ranelagh School and National Leader in Education. For services to Education. (Newbury, Wiltshire)
  • Christine Bovingdon-Cox. Misconduct Manager, Thames Valley Police. For services to Policing. (Wootton, Oxfordshire)
  • Michelle Law. Bursar, Meadows Care Home. For services to Care Home Residents particularly during the Covid-19 Pandemic. (Wantage, Oxfordshire)
  • Catherine Elizabeth McGill. For services to the Arts. (Witney, Oxfordshire)
  • Tracy Lynn Waldron. For services to the community in Chadlington, Oxfordshire during Covid-19. (Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire)
  • Bjorn Hugh Henry Watson. For services to the community in Shrivenham, Oxfordshire during Covid-19. (Faringdon, Oxfordshire)
  • Timothy Edwin Paul Stevenson O.B.E. Lord-Lieutenant of Oxfordshire. (Oxfordshire)