WEST Oxfordshire District Council’s election saw the Conservatives sweep most of the seats up for grabs.

West Oxfordshire residents across 17 wards in the district were asked to elect new councillors in a poll that was delayed from 2020 due to the pandemic.

The Conservatives won in 10 of these seats, with Labour taking three centred around Witney and Chipping Norton, the Lib Dems winning three, and the Greens emerging victorious in Witney North.

The results for the district poll vaguely mirrored those for Oxfordshire County Council, which saw Labour gain seats in Chipping Norton and Witney in a shock result, and the Greens winning in some seats in the countryside surrounding Oxford.

While the county council has been left with no overall control as a result of the election, the Conservatives remain the largest party in West Oxfordshire District Council.

The district council usually holds elections for one third of its councillors on a yearly basis, and would have had a year off elections in the fourth year.

Last year, elections were due to take place for seats in 17 wards on the council, but the coronavirus pandemic put paid to the polls.

Instead, the elections for a third of the council which were due to take place in 2020 will now take place this year.

Because the elections have been postponed, the district councillors elected in 2021 will only serve a three-year term and stand for re-election in 2024.

There are a total of 49 councillors elected to West Oxfordshire District Council, who between them represent 27 different communities, divided up into ward areas.

The results are as follows:

Bampton and Clanfield, Rupert Dent (Conservative)

Chadlington and Churchill, Dean Temple (Conservative)

Charlbury and Finstock, Liz Leffman (Lib Dems)

Chipping Norton, Geoff Saul (Labour)

Eynsham and Cassington, Andrew Goodwin (Lib Dem)

Freeland and Hanborough, Alaa Hassan Al-Yousuf (Conservative)

Hailey, Minster Lovell and Leafield Ward, Colin Dingwall (Conservative)

Kingham, Rollright and Enstone, Alex Wilson (Conservative)

Milton-Under-Wychwood, Jeff Haine (Conservative)

North Leigh, Harry St John (Conservative)

Standlake, Aston and Stanton Harcourt, Lysette Nicholls (Conservative)

Stonesfield and Tackley, Mathew Parkinson (Lib Dems)

Witney Central, Andrew Coles (Labour)

Witney East, Duncan Enright (Labour)

Witney North, Andrew Prosser (Green)

Witney South, Mark Johnson (Conservative)

Witney West, Jane Doughty (Conservative)

Woodstock and Bladon, Elizabeth Poskitt (Lib Dems)