The level of restrictions in place for Oxford and Oxfordshire under the new tier system have been confirmed. 

Boris Johnson set out the three-tier system to the House of Commons this afternoon.

ALSO READ: More than 50 Covid cases at Oxford University 

MPs will debate and vote on the measures on Tuesday and it will come into effect on Wednesday.

Despite rising cases in Oxford and the wider county, which is above 50 cases per 100,000 people, both will be at the lowest level of restriction - tier one or 'medium alert'.

This means national measures apply;

  • 10pm curfew for pubs, bars and restaurants.
  • Rule of Six - gatherings of more than six banned except for under certain circumstances such as weddings and funerals.

Restrictions will be kept under review.

What would it mean if we moved up a level? 

Tier two or 'high alert' means;

  • Household mixing is banned indoors, although support bubbles will still be permitted, while the rule of six will continue to apply outdoors.

Most areas which are already subject to local restrictions will move to this level, according to the Prime Minister.

Which areas are in this level?


– Cheshire West and Chester

– Cheshire East

Greater Manchester

– Manchester

– Bolton

– Bury

– Stockport

– Tameside

– Trafford

– Wigan

– Salford

– Rochdale

– Oldham


– Warrington


– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North


– Lancashire

– Blackpool

– Preston

– Blackburn with Darwen

– Burnley

West Yorkshire

– Leeds

– Bradford

– Kirklees

– Calderdale

– Wakefield

South Yorkshire

– Barnsley

– Rotherham

– Doncaster

– Sheffield

North East

– Newcastle

– South Tyneside

– North Tyneside

– Gateshead

– Sunderland

– Durham

– Northumberland

Tees Valley

– Middlesbrough

– Redcar and Cleveland

– Stockton-on-Tees

– Darlington

– Hartlepool

West Midlands

– Birmingham

– Sandwell

– Solihull

– Wolverhampton

– Walsall


– Leicester

– Oadby and Wigston


– Nottinghamshire

– Nottingham City

The greatest rectrictions are reserved for tier three or 'very high alert'.

What does that mean? 

  • Social mixing will be banned both indoors and in private gardens, while pubs and bars will be told to close unless they can operate as a restaurant.
  • Local leaders will help to determine whether other venues should be closed, such as gyms or casinos, in very high alert level areas.
  • People will also be advised against travel in and out of the areas.

Which areas are in this level?

Currently just Liverpool City Region

– Liverpool

– Knowsley

– Wirral

– St Helens

– Sefton

– Halton