The Jam Factory in Oxford, which has undergone a major clean-up, has a fascinating history and was once the home of Frank Cooper Oxford Marmalade.

In recent years the impressive building in Frideswide Square has also housed a cafe and community arts space.

READ AGAIN: Big clean-up at Oxford's Jam Factory

Here we look back at some of the community projects in recent years including photography exhibitions.

Oxford Mail:

Marc West curating a photography exhibition

The building's owner Nuffield College has been overseeing the clean-up of the stonework and it is now complete.

Oxford Mail:

It is a popular landmark in the city because of its rich history.

Oxford Mail:

In 1903, Frank Cooper’s original Jam Factory building was completed, on the site where it stands today and facing onto what is now Frideswide Square.

Oxford Mail:

Jam Factory director Andrew Norton in 2013

The building was purpose-built in 1902-1903 by the Oxford builder TH Kingerlee & Sons. The architect was Herbert Quinton.

READ AGAIN: Preserving past of former marmalade factory

Connectivity to the railway was a key reason for Frank Cooper choosing the site: just as remains the case today, the proximity to the railway was an important business advantage, both for the delivery of ingredients and for the distribution of finished product.

Oxford Mail:

Frank Cooper on Botley Road

In 1951, the factory closed after the Second World War when Cooper’s moved production to a new site on the Botley Road, to a building which later became the Majestic Cinema).

When Frank Cooper left the city for Paisley in Scotland in 1967, the building was bought by MFI.